Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I also thought I would never have kolaches again having moved from Houston to Arizona. When I saw this recipe I went out and bought a bread machine. The recipe was easy to follow, the only change I made was wrapping the dough all around the filling, also like other users I omitted the hashbrowns. I made some with sausage and cheese and some with ham and cheese, also I added jalapenos to a few. I will be making these again, just be sure not to use too much dough, I did but they still tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
These were perfect! They taste just like the ones from my favorite kolache shop. The dough is the important part of this recipe- you can fill it with whatever you want. One note: The portions seemed wrong to me since they were so small. They aren't the dough is moist and rises a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
I modified the recipe slightly by using bulk sausage andadding scrambled eggs to it. My husband and I have breakfast at my in-laws every Sunday and these were a hit!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Fantastic!!! I had never had these before, but seeing all the rave reviews I just had to try them. They are just WONDERFUL! I ate 3 of them before the second batch even came out of the oven. I made half with the sausages and cheese and half with an apple filling and crumble topping. YUM! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
These are just like the kolaches I've been enjoying for years in Central Texas, minus the hash browns. The dough is the key ingredient in this recipe, you can add many different things as the filling. We love smoked sausage and cheese. Jalepenos are also great with those. Thanks so much for this recipe, it's fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2006
OH MY GOSH These are so good!! My hubby loves Kolaches and I have been looking at recipes but they all seemed so time consuming. These were so EASY to make, my husband said if he didn't see me do it he would of swore I spent all day making these :) Thanks for the wonderful recipe. We will be making these again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: College Station, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
Great flavor. My family loved them. Just make sure you don't make the dough balls too large. I did and so mine turned out to be more dough than filling. Next time I'll try basting with melted butter while they bake as another reviewer suggested. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
I had kolaches in the airport a few weeks ago. I'd never heard of them but my dad raved so I bought a few different varieties to try. They were wonderful!!! They are really really close to those. Thank you!!! The sweetness in the dough is what makes them worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
I found the directions for these to be a little vague. Having randomly stumbled upon this recipe, I decided to try it, never having seen actual kolaches before.In the end, I had to search around on the internet for better directions for assembling them. I found it easier to roll the sausages up like pigs in a blanket rather than just placing them on the centre of the dough. Good, but nothing spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
These are awesome! My husband wants these every weekend. I too tasted my first kolache in Texas and have been looking for this recipe for over 10+years. I also used the whole sausage and a little more sugar they taste just like I remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOWLISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bow, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States