Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Thank you Melissa!!! I just cannot tell you how excited I am to have this recipe. I am sitting here eating one, and ohhhh it is so good! I did make a few changes.. I did the dough just like the recipe says - it was perfect. I didn't have any smokies, so I used ground sausage and shaped it into little smoky shapes and cooked it while the dough was making. Once my dough was done, I did the ball thing with no problem and instead of waiting 15 min. I went ahead and flattened them and put the sausage on it with a little piece of velveeta. Then I rolled them up and let them sit the 15 minutes on the greased baking pan. Baked to perfection in 10 minutes. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
I wish I could give it more stars. This is better than any that you can buy. I have made this about a dozen times and they always turn out great. I have stuffed them with pizza filling, sauages, and boudin so far and everyone raves!!!Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2008
These were just OK. Maybe it was the sausage that I used but the dough had a wang to it. They ended up in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spring, Texas, USA
Living In: Cypress, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
Finally, a recipe for kolaches the way I loved having them in Texas! These are great. I make two changes - I don't add potatoes (have never heard of that before), and I wrap the dough around the sausage and cheese rather than making the indentation. Excellent recipe - thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
So easy and just like I remember them from a little bakery in West, Texas. My kids love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I didn't have a bread machine so I used my kitchenaid mixer, the kind that can probably take over the world some day. I ended up with a franken recipe from that manual which goes as follow: I heated the milk, sugar, and butter on low heat until it was dissolved/melted. Per my franken recipe instructions I mixed dry ingredients together (-1/2 cup flour) and then added liquids gradually. Last I slowly added the rest of the flour. It turned out really well. I formed the dough balls and let those sit overnight in the fridge, but I probably should have made them up until the point they are popped in the oven because it kinda had a weird crust the next day. Still turned out good, but if you are preparing them for overnight storage make sure you fold in the fillings before they siesta in the frig. Thanks for the delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
This was a great recipe! I didn't have bread flour so I used all-purpose. I don't know the difference between the two anyways. The kolaches still turned out great. I used different fillings and rolled them up as was shown in the photo even though I know it was meant to put on top. I sauted green peppers, broccoli and chopped tomatoes and put that in with some scrambled eggs and bacon and shredded cheese. I also prepared them and left them on a baking sheet in the fridge overnight to bake in the morning. Worked great! I did have to increase the baking time a little bit though and I brushed them with butter. I also made some for dinner last night but in those I put some sauted roast beef lunch meat with au jus and some cheese in the middle and then baked them. Serve with the Au Jus for dipping as well. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
I have never made Kolaches before but this recipe was fun to make and came out yummy. The reviews were also very helpful. I also used different fruit preserves topped with cream cheese glaze to make a variety of tasty treats. I also used ham and bacon which I had precooked as well as the little smokies. I am very pleased with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mindi9206
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2007
This recipe is AMAZING. I added a little extra sugar b/c we like ours a little sweeter. This didn't affect the texture of the dough at all. I also used whole sausages and folded the dough over the sausage rather than pressing the sausage into the middle of the dough as the recipe suggested. Will try w/velveeta cheese next time rather than grated cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindi9206

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
Not quite sure why I didn't like these more. The first few bites were very good but then they started to grow on me in a very bad way. I didn't care for the sliced cheese at all. Perhaps shredded cheddar would compliment the flavors better. I would also recommend cooking the hashbrowns before putting them on the kolaches because mine came out very hard and pretty flavorless. You'll definitely want to cook the sausage first also. The only reason I'm giving this 3 stars is because the bread was excellent. I will probably make again using the adjustments mentioned above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rosebud, Texas, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States