Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This recipe is almost identical to the one I use, with the exception of mine calling for water and dry milk vs. warm milk. For those of you having trouble, it may help you to have tried or even seen a kolache before. There are different types, some with fruit typically place on top of the dough and baked, and the breakfast type filled with sausage, ham, cheese, etc. "Filled" being the key word here. The way I do it is: I cut the dough after getting out of the bread maker into 12 equal pieces. I then flaten into oblong shapes, brush with melted butter, and stuff with sausage & cheese (whatever fillings). I use american cheese and smoked breakfast sausage links (smoked meaning already cooked) that I usually find at Kroger. Close the rolls and pinch the openings shut as best as you can. Then brush tops with more melted butter and bake. Being a native Houstonian, this is as close as I've been able to come to the real thing offered at every donut shop in Texas after having to move to Alabama. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondjuls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I live in Texas and love good Kolaches. This recipe is simple and very delicious. It is so easy to prepare and comes out so pretty and yummy! I will be making these kolaches again today as my children will be visiting from Austin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
The kolaches are so easy and taste great! I did brush butter across them the last minute of baking. Also, I used precooked cheddarwurst and rolled them like pigs in a blanket. They definately tasted like the Texas ones I so loved and miss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
So good! Reminded me of the ones back home in Houston.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina72913

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My favorite so far! I normally use crescent rolls to wrap the sausages in, but this was so much better. I didn't have a bread machine so I mixed the sugar, milk and yeast together and added it to the dry mix (I added the butter to the dry mix right before I added yeast mixture). I then let in rise for an hour or two. Then wrapped the little smokies with a small piece of dough, let rise again for 15 min. and then baked for 16 min. I think I'm going to use this dough for dinner rolls from now on...its just that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
AWESOME. Finally made these, didn't have the potatoe flakes but they still came out GREAT! I filled them with sausage and cheese, and others with jelly and folded them up like a dumpling, let them rise, the baked to perfection!! My neighbors think I'm a chef now. heheheh .. THANKS! I will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUJUS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
This is one of those recipes I use a lot and have never reviewed. Do yourself a favor and wrap this dough around your favorite smoked sausage! I do spicy/hot/jalapeño/hot links for grown ups and Little Smokies and Eckrich Smok*y Links for the kiddos. Fantastic! Keep them in the freezer and zap for a quick on the go breakfast or snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
The bread for these was fantastic! Just what I was looking for. I made these into a Texas-style kolache by cookie up some lil' smokies and wrapping the dough around the sausage and a bit of cheddar cheese before baking. The filling popped out of some of the kolaches, but they were super-tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Honor Ross
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2008
I made two kinds of these, strawberry and mango. Strawberry wansn't so good, but mango was DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Honor Ross

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
the main problem I had with this recipe seemed to be the baking temperature, as the bottoms of the buns were burned. I would likely try this again with a lower baking temperature next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States