Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 3, 2010
While stationed in South Texas, I fell in love with sausage kolaches and so did my son. We are now stationed in Japan and were craving a taste from Texas. Excellent recipe tastes just like the ones from the local doughnut shop that we miss so much. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2010
I'm get again another ex-Texan. Great recipe and very easy to follow. I used turkey little smokies to cut some calories and they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
These were wonderful! When reading the reviews that they were "just like the ones I had in Texas," I was skeptical, but these are indeed very similar to my favorite Austin kolaches. I divided my dough into 18 oblong (2"x4") flattened pieces and let them rise, as directed. Then brushed each with some melted butter, sprinkled with a few pinches of shredded cheddar, added 3 jarred jalapenos (drained well), some more cheese, and a pre-cooked smoked breakfast sausage link. Rolled each up tightly and pinched together the top and ends well, facing them seam side down for baking. If desired, brush each with a little melted butter for the last 5 minutes of baking time. I also prepared them all the night before, brought to room temp in the morning and baked the ones we were to eat that morning as directed on my pizza stone. The rest will keep in the fridge for a couple of days so we can bake them fresh each morning, and we'll freeze whatever we have left. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RecipeAddict

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Im giving this recipe 5 stars so it doesnt affect the rating. But my dough didnt turn out...I think. It was very sticky and gooey. I really want to try these, but I'm not sure if I should use the dough as it is, or start over. I'm sure it's my fault if the dough isnt supposed to be sticky. The ratings for this recipe are all good ones, so I will trust it. The dough is a bit stickier than pizza dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
We had these in Houston several years ago & loved them! I omit the hash browns, but keep everything the same. It is a favorite breakfast in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
This recipe is almost identical to the one I use, with the exception of mine calling for water and dry milk vs. warm milk. For those of you having trouble, it may help you to have tried or even seen a kolache before. There are different types, some with fruit typically place on top of the dough and baked, and the breakfast type filled with sausage, ham, cheese, etc. "Filled" being the key word here. The way I do it is: I cut the dough after getting out of the bread maker into 12 equal pieces. I then flaten into oblong shapes, brush with melted butter, and stuff with sausage & cheese (whatever fillings). I use american cheese and smoked breakfast sausage links (smoked meaning already cooked) that I usually find at Kroger. Close the rolls and pinch the openings shut as best as you can. Then brush tops with more melted butter and bake. Being a native Houstonian, this is as close as I've been able to come to the real thing offered at every donut shop in Texas after having to move to Alabama. Hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blondjuls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearland, Texas, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2009
I live in Texas and love good Kolaches. This recipe is simple and very delicious. It is so easy to prepare and comes out so pretty and yummy! I will be making these kolaches again today as my children will be visiting from Austin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Arthur, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
The kolaches are so easy and taste great! I did brush butter across them the last minute of baking. Also, I used precooked cheddarwurst and rolled them like pigs in a blanket. They definately tasted like the Texas ones I so loved and miss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
So good! Reminded me of the ones back home in Houston.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristina72913

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
My favorite so far! I normally use crescent rolls to wrap the sausages in, but this was so much better. I didn't have a bread machine so I mixed the sugar, milk and yeast together and added it to the dry mix (I added the butter to the dry mix right before I added yeast mixture). I then let in rise for an hour or two. Then wrapped the little smokies with a small piece of dough, let rise again for 15 min. and then baked for 16 min. I think I'm going to use this dough for dinner rolls from now on...its just that good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States