Breakfast Kolaches Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
These were pretty yummy and authentic, but I made some changes to suit our diet and palate. I like mine to be a litlle bit more sweet and healthier at the same time. I subbed the 3 cups of bread flour with 2 cups WHOLE WHEAT bread flour and 1 cup reg. bread flour. Then, instead of 1/4 cup sugar, I made it 1/2 cup sugar. I filled it with only fully-cooked sausage and cheese, no hashed browned potatoes. Also, the recipe didn't have very detailed instructions in the end on how to fill and roll these, so unless you know what a kolache looks likes, I can see where people get confused. I would make a golf-sized ball with floured hands (it can be quite sticky) and put it on a floured surface. Flatten out the ball and use a wooden roller to roll it out into a circle about 3/8" or about 1 cm thick. In the center of the circle, place the filling (savory filling in this case if the filling will be INSIDE the kolache) and take one end of circle, fold over the filling and roll. Pinch the ends close and fold over seam. Place the kolache seam-size down on parchment paper on a baking sheet.They should resemble an oblong short, hot-dog bun. Alternatively, you can make it look like little round dinner rolls as well depending on type of filling you're using. I have also seen a sweet filling on top of the dough, resembling a more of a danish. You can try all kinds of fillings, which is why kolaches are so great - bacon and eggs, goat cheese and spinach, ham, egg and cheese, etc, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I'd never eated Kolaches before, so I have nothing to compare them with, but they were a keeper. Tried them with sausage, cheese, and hot peppers, and also apple pie filling. Was surprised that the same dough was so good both ways. Use just a bit of confectioner's sugar glaze on the sweet ones. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2011
I have made this recipe several times, but I can never seem to get the bread to come out just right. I don't have a bread machine either. I prefer softer bread so I think that I will try to find a softer bread recipe. If anyone has any suggestions they would be appreciated. I use Johnsonville Beddar Cheddar sausages and they work great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Great recipe as is. For those of you who are curious about what kolaches are like, they are sort of a biscuit with a filling inside. The only thing is that the number of dough balls is an overestimate. I usually get 18-20 balls per batch of dough. I use lil' smokies (the precooked sausage) inside mine. I let them get to room temp before I wrap them up in the balls of dough. Occasionally I will put 1/4 of a square of American Cheese inside. Canned pie filling can be used for a sweet version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
10 Star recipe! I grew up in Texas and can attest that this is a GREAT kolache recipe. I can't wait to make the dough again and just make into rolls as it is the best "roll" recipe I have found. I used Johnsonville Cheddar Sausages, cut in half, and used 1/2 in each roll. I made the rolls into oblong pieces rather than balls. I've never had hashbrowns in a kolache so I didn't even think of putting them in. Also, I made only 12 rolls instead of 18. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mimi2Five

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
5 stars for wonderful bread minus 1 star for incomplete directions. The sausage needs to be cooked sausage and the hash browns are better if you precook them also. I cut my dough into 12 pieces, rolled each into a small tortilla size circle, put a 1/4 slice of cheese some crumbled,cooked sausage, then hash browns. Pinched the dough up tight, then a small twist to seal well then bake twist side down. They come out about the size of a hamburger bun. Only took 15 min. to cook. The bread is the best runza, cabbage burger, kolaches bread I have tried so far!!!! Is great with cooked apples, walnut, cinnamon filling instead of the meat filling also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoJoMouse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Colorado, USA
Living In: Casper, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
I do not have a bread machine so made these using frozen bread dough thawed and allowed to rise then punched down. Rather than links I browned turkey breakfast sausage and used shredded cheddar. Was an okay breakfast but probably will not make again. Accidentally gave it 4 stars meant to rate at 3 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Excellent dough recipe! I didn't use the hash browns, but used pepper jack cheese and sausage from a local smokehouse. They were a hit with the hubby and kiddo. Will most certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
This is exactly what I was hoping for! Light tender soft dough wrapped around a smoky sausage. Just like the doughnut shops here in Texas serve. Only better because it came from my kitchen and I have 36 of these. (Well, I did but DH and I ate 5 of these already taste testing them.) I left out the hash browns and cheese and just used beef little smokies. The next time I will make a variety of sausage & jalapeno and ham & cheese too. Wonderful easy EASY recipe. No kneading! I made this without a bread machine. I warmed the milk and sugar in a saucepan, (I didn't measure the temp as candy thermometer is who knows where? so I felt it and when it was warm on my finger, like a baby's bottle would be, warm not hot, I added the yeast and 1 c bread flour and mixed it, then covered it and let it stand an hour. I then added in the melted butter, salt, egg and rest of the flour. I stirred what I could with a wooden spoon and then used my hands to mix in the last bits of flour. I then covered the bowl and let this rise until it was doubled, then divided it 36 pieces. They seemed really small, but they did rise up and the sausages fit perfectly! I didn't really make in indentation I just laid the sausage in the middle and wrapped the edges up over and pinched the edges shut and put it seam side down on the baking sheet. I didn't know this, but bread machine yeast IS regular yeast. Thanks for this recipe and to everyone else who gave me tips for making these turn out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
OMG! Yummmy! If your dough is not coming out right, make sure you use the bread flour and at diffterent altitutes adjust your flour. This was one of the easiest recipes and the kids loved it. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States