Breakfast Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
My wife had never tried grits, so I made these for her. I used half water, half milk and stirred in crumbled bacon bits at the end. Not only were they fantastic that day, they were even better the next day when I formed the leftovers in to patties and browned them in some melted butter. Not the healthiest thing in the world by any means, but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Montana, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I make grits all the time but found out that using velveeta cheese is way better than using cheddar cheese. You can put anything in grits, even some salsa, veggies, salmon... almost anything. This is a real southern dish that will warm you up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2004
My two year old loves grits this way. They are the best. You can adjust the seasoning to taste and I recommend you try different types of cheese for variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2002
My husband is from Charleston SC, where grits rule! This recipe reminds me of an Edisto Island, SC, resturant's one! Oh! The savory memory is alive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I grew up watching my grandmother cook grits and her were always so creamy and perfectly prepared (be it with a little butter, S&P or cheese). Her trick to add milk (she never measured it but my guess would be 1/4-1/2 cup), the milk makes them even creamier. I've made what I call "Breakfast Succotash" by mixing cheese grits, a scrambled egg and bacon or sausage, mix thoroughly and serve with toast...a happy childhood memory for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Thank you so much for posting this recipe! My husband grew up with grits & eggs as a breakfast staple, and I'd never heard of them before we got married! This is a much easier and more reliable method than the instructions on the package, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This is really good. However, instead of water, I used 2 cups 2% milk and 1 cup water. And a splash of 1/2 and 1/2. I've also made grits using reduced sodium chicken broth and milk and they are also very good. Thanks for the recipe! These grits were thicker than my other go-to recipe and I like that. Not as soupy as before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Made this recipe because I had made Shimp and Grits from a different recipe last night and we finished the Grits, but still had the shrimp and sauce left over. I wasn't too fond of the other grit recipe because it was too rich (cooked with heavy cream - bleh!). This was perfect, I cooked with half low-fat milk and half water. Loved it thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
This gal can cook grits!! Have you tried adding some chopped up boiled shrimp? If we have any left over from our low country boils, I'll peel them and chop them up and add them to the grits about the last five min of cooking. My wife likes to add a half can of salmon(deboned of course) to her grits. That doesn't even sound good to me but,, she likes it, maybe some else out there will too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadeuel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Donough, New York, USA
Living In: Americus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
i love grits but ive ever had this kind and they turn out very yummy yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States