Breakfast Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
Made this recipe because I had made Shimp and Grits from a different recipe last night and we finished the Grits, but still had the shrimp and sauce left over. I wasn't too fond of the other grit recipe because it was too rich (cooked with heavy cream - bleh!). This was perfect, I cooked with half low-fat milk and half water. Loved it thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
i babysit my younger siblings all the time, and this is one of the few meals that both of them will eat without complaining, very satisfying!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggieluver

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
Delicious! I did not like plain grits at all. These were so much better. It's amazing what a little cheese and butter can do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
I can't believe after eating grits all my life I never tried cheese grits before. This dish is so good, and a step up from my butter, s & p. I could easily see adding some garlic and a sprinkle of cayenne. I used quick grits and still cooked them for about 12 minutes covered. Grits should be thick enough to eat with a fork and these were perfect. Thanks Jen, these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
My wife had never tried grits, so I made these for her. I used half water, half milk and stirred in crumbled bacon bits at the end. Not only were they fantastic that day, they were even better the next day when I formed the leftovers in to patties and browned them in some melted butter. Not the healthiest thing in the world by any means, but tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bover

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Montana, USA
Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
While making breakfast this morning I decided to cook up some grits as well. I made it just like the recipe called for and then added crumbled bacon that they wife didn't want to finish. This recipe is so delicious that I've been eating grits all day long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by longtab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
MMM. I love the cheese. I add milk to mine also sometimes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I fixed grits for the first time using this recipe. My wife was born in Birmingham Alabama and she said they were the best grits she ever had. Thanks for posting it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
I make grits all the time but found out that using velveeta cheese is way better than using cheddar cheese. You can put anything in grits, even some salsa, veggies, salmon... almost anything. This is a real southern dish that will warm you up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2007
Finished with crumbled bacon; Mm-Mmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Clay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States