Breakfast Grits Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2011
I’ve only had grits one time before when visiting Charleston, SC. BTW the gardens are as beautiful as described in garden magazines. I know because I had absolutely no pride peaking into people’s gardens. But I digress. I always heard that grits were awful but I tried them just out of curiosity. I really liked them and thought I’d try them at home. I thought this dish was very good but not as good as I remembered having in Charleston.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2011
First time for grits and the whole family loved them! They were thick but i think that is due to all the extra cheese my daughter add. LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I grew up watching my grandmother cook grits and her were always so creamy and perfectly prepared (be it with a little butter, S&P or cheese). Her trick to add milk (she never measured it but my guess would be 1/4-1/2 cup), the milk makes them even creamier. I've made what I call "Breakfast Succotash" by mixing cheese grits, a scrambled egg and bacon or sausage, mix thoroughly and serve with toast...a happy childhood memory for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUNSHINE6420

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
Very good! Thank you soooo much !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA
Living In: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2011
Perfect! the only thing I did, and Im not sure that it made a difference, but I soaked the grits overnight in water. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Cheese grits are OK, but they are better without. I prefer quick grits that cook in 5 minutes. 4 cups water to 1 cup grits. In either case, best recipe is on the box. For variety, the yellow corn grits/polenta is outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
I dont eat grits, but I made these for my bf & he liked them a lot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
i love grits but ive ever had this kind and they turn out very yummy yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
Thank you so much for posting this recipe! My husband grew up with grits & eggs as a breakfast staple, and I'd never heard of them before we got married! This is a much easier and more reliable method than the instructions on the package, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
This is simple and delicious just as written. Its such an easy dish to make and very comforting. I also love that this basic recipe can be adjusted for different seasonings and different types of cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Old Charleston Style Shrimp and Grits

Tender shrimp with sausage and peppers served over cheesy grits.

How to Make Shrimp and Grits

See how to make some classic Southern comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States