Breakfast Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Disclaimer: I have a problem with people that totally change everything about a recipe and then give it bad reviews. That being said, I had to tweak this as I didn't have everything on hand. I used frozen hash brown patties, thawed in the microwave, bulk pork breakfast sausage, no green chili, corn tortillas and red enchilada sauce. I'm quite sure the recipe as-is is wonderful. With the changes I had to make, it was fabulous. My husband had it 2 days in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
These were somewhat bland the first time I made them. The second time I added cooked sausage, scrambled eggs, O'brien potatoes and a mix of cheddar and pepperjack to stuff the enchiladas. What a very pleasant surprise.... Quite tasty, in fact. Just to experiment, I froze two of the enchiladas and am so very glad I did. Had no idea what to expect as I have never had a reason to freeze scrambled eggs. Popped them into the oven and when done, tasted as if they were freshly made. Perfect to keep on hand for surprise overnight guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
117 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
this was a good idea i used corn tortillas and bacon and eggs. It turned out good. My 6 kids ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jefners3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This is a come back to recipe for me...the only change I make is adding scrambled eggs. Make them seperate from the hash brown mixture, then fold in before filling tortillas. I get compliments everytime I make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Had this for dinner, added eggs and used red sauce which I added some to the egg/potato mixture. Served with refried beans and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Oddly enough I'm the odd review out. However that is because if you're like me and possibly sensitive to spicy tastes this might upset you as well. I didn't use green chile enchilada sauce, I used regular enchilada sauce that was mild. The can diced green chile peppers was enough to make it too spicy for me. 28 ounce can of enchilada sauce proved to be way too much. I think it will take experimenting to make this taste wonderful, possibly some cooked eggs in it as well as mushrooms and get rid of the chile peppers. I think that it will be something I definitely will modify until I find something to suit my tastes. That being said - my husband didn't mind it, but said it could use some changes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
This is really yummy! I used jalapenos instead of chiles as that is what we had on hand and pepper jack cheese in place of cheddar cheese...oh and bacon instead of ham (as i also did not have any ham on hand). Anyhow, a great addition to our breakfast menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I made these last night and added some eggs but it came out mushy. It was very good regardless, but does anybody have ideas on how I could make the hashbrowns crispy without using a million dishes??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Loftin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MegHarmeyer
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I really liked this recipe. I could have used fresh New Mexico chiles but I was making the recipe for a cooking challenge and had to make it with ingredients that are widely available. I only had enough potato/ham mixture for four enchiladas - maybe I filled them too much? My husband really liked this and I will definitely be making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MegHarmeyer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
I think if you are going to have a breakfast enchilada is has to have eggs. That is the oly reason I did not give this a 5 star. I think I will try it again with eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zeke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holladay, Utah, USA
Living In: North Salt Lake, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States