Breakfast Enchiladas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
Yummy! I added diced jalapeno to give it some spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
In order to prevent the tortillas from getting soggy, I "toasted" them on a pan. Then, ran them trhough the enchilada sauce. I used corn tortillas, as well. I did two at a time and sprayed a bit of pam before each. I also made this as more of a casserole, than rolled up tortillas by laying them flat like lasagna. I also added egg, like many other suggested. Gave this a 4 because I ended up making my own enchilada sauce and the diced chilis were not necessary b/c my sauce was packed with lots of flavor. The concenpt was great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
I loved the idea! I ran with it. I added eggs (with sour cream and cheese), ground, spicy, Italian sausage and bacon. I made the hash browns from scratch, too. And I used my own red enchilada sauce. I mixed Monterey Jack with the Cheddar, as well. So ya, it was nothing like the recipe above but it certainly got me on the road to a great breaky!! Brilliant idea!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2013
I made half the amount home fries just for this recipe (instead of using packaged frozen hashbrowns) and threw in a few scrambled eggs in place of some of the home fries. I also used corn tortillas--for me, the corn tortillas seem to stand up better when used in enchilada recipes. These weren't bad. The recipe was easy and filled up three hungry men for not much money at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Disclaimer: I have a problem with people that totally change everything about a recipe and then give it bad reviews. That being said, I had to tweak this as I didn't have everything on hand. I used frozen hash brown patties, thawed in the microwave, bulk pork breakfast sausage, no green chili, corn tortillas and red enchilada sauce. I'm quite sure the recipe as-is is wonderful. With the changes I had to make, it was fabulous. My husband had it 2 days in a row!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
These were somewhat bland the first time I made them. The second time I added cooked sausage, scrambled eggs, O'brien potatoes and a mix of cheddar and pepperjack to stuff the enchiladas. What a very pleasant surprise.... Quite tasty, in fact. Just to experiment, I froze two of the enchiladas and am so very glad I did. Had no idea what to expect as I have never had a reason to freeze scrambled eggs. Popped them into the oven and when done, tasted as if they were freshly made. Perfect to keep on hand for surprise overnight guests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
this was a good idea i used corn tortillas and bacon and eggs. It turned out good. My 6 kids ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennrobs6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This is a come back to recipe for me...the only change I make is adding scrambled eggs. Make them seperate from the hash brown mixture, then fold in before filling tortillas. I get compliments everytime I make it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
Had this for dinner, added eggs and used red sauce which I added some to the egg/potato mixture. Served with refried beans and salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
Oddly enough I'm the odd review out. However that is because if you're like me and possibly sensitive to spicy tastes this might upset you as well. I didn't use green chile enchilada sauce, I used regular enchilada sauce that was mild. The can diced green chile peppers was enough to make it too spicy for me. 28 ounce can of enchilada sauce proved to be way too much. I think it will take experimenting to make this taste wonderful, possibly some cooked eggs in it as well as mushrooms and get rid of the chile peppers. I think that it will be something I definitely will modify until I find something to suit my tastes. That being said - my husband didn't mind it, but said it could use some changes as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Idaho Falls, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States