Breakfast Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I substituted wheat flour, added one apple, 1/4 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 cup milk. I also took it out five minutes early. Very good breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this for the first time today. After reading other reviews about it "needing something". I happen to have two ripe bananas which I mashed and added together with some walnuts.I also added 1/4tsp of vanilla extract. I would have added milk as suggested, but the bananas made it very soupy. I left out the milk, and cooked it for the full 30mins. We loved it! Next time I'll add the milk too, just to see which way I like best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzChris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by baskerville_gal
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
The only changes I made were to use regular rolled oats instead of instant, and to bake it in a glass pie dish. It was delicious, like eating a giant oatmeal cookie. It turned out kind of crumbly, but I don't mind that. It was a great breakfast, but I think it would also be good served as a dessert with ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
There appears to be something missing in this recipe, it was dry and powdery, no wonder there were so meny bad reviews. However, I added 2 eggs, 2 mashed bananas, a handful of walnuts, and a handful of raisins. A table spoon of baking powder, a 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla, and more cinnamon, and a touch of nutmeg. This is a keeper, so 5 stars with changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard Food Freak

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cupcake_cute_foodie
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
mmm...After reading reviews, it seemed this recipe would be dry and crumbly, I just wasn't feeling that this morning. So I halved the recipie, added about 1/2 Tb. extra butter (did not use margarine at all), splashed some milk into the egg before scrambling together (a little less than a 1/3 C.) and added just a splash of vanilla. It came out moist and deliciously. Like a brown sugar cinnamon oatmeal bar. mmm...5 stars after my mods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cupcake_cute_foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
These were just ok. I wasn't impressed. I threw the recipe away, then the kids and hubby asked me to make them again, since the first batch lasted less than a day. So, 3 against 1, I guess they are great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Adrian, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
awesome thank you for the extra tips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jasmine Scott-Cochran

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
I followed other reviewer's advice and used 2 eggs, 2 mashed bananas, extra cinnamon and some nutmeg. I also added a handful of walnuts and topped half of it with choclate chips. I loved the choclate topped ones, however it does take over the flavor...but I didn't mind. Super easy and yummy pop and go snack.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yum Yum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Delish! I followed one members advice and added 1/4 teaspoon of vanilla, 1/2 cup of milk and one apple. Was very, very good! I only cooked it for 25 minutes and it came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
This was good. Not too sweet, so I didn't feel as if I was feeding a cookie to my kids for breakfast! :) To combat the dryness, I added 1/4 cup of applesauce and left the rest as is. It is yummy and is a great way to deal with those kids who are hard to wake up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States