Breakfast Crisp Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2009
I made this for the first time today. After reading other reviews about it "needing something". I happen to have two ripe bananas which I mashed and added together with some walnuts.I also added 1/4tsp of vanilla extract. I would have added milk as suggested, but the bananas made it very soupy. I left out the milk, and cooked it for the full 30mins. We loved it! Next time I'll add the milk too, just to see which way I like best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MzChris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
I substituted wheat flour, added one apple, 1/4 tsp vanilla, and 1/2 cup milk. I also took it out five minutes early. Very good breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Me and a friend actually found this recipe to be tasty, although simple. It could be crumbly if you over cook it (I cooked it for 5 minutes less than called for) I also wouldn't offer it in the car, I think the recipe is meant to be more like a granola bar, but i like it soft. I will try it again with dried fruit and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2004
We, too, found this recipe "just ok" in taste. Served at room temperature with cold milk or hot coffee the flavors are enhanced. We experienced all of deficiencies sited by other reviewers. It definitely needs something additional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AuntieJ

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
Like previous reviewers, I was disappointed with this recipe. The batter did not pour as instructed (too thick) and the final product was dry and crumbly with very little flavor. Definitely not a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2002
There wasn't enough to fill an 8x8 pan completely, it looked unappetizing and tasted even worse. What a waste of time, and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2002
This was more like an enormous oatmeal cookie, but very dry and not very flavorful. I wouldn't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BASTET

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
The batter was very thick and I could not pour it into the pan as the directions state. It was hard to spread into the pan. Baked up kind of dry and crumbly. If I make this again I would try adding some milk or maybe another egg. My husband loves oatmeal cookies but he didn't ooh and ahh over this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2002
Delicious, wonderful presentation, and a welcome change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
These were just ok. I wasn't impressed. I threw the recipe away, then the kids and hubby asked me to make them again, since the first batch lasted less than a day. So, 3 against 1, I guess they are great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Adrian, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charleston Breakfast Casserole

A crowd-pleasing casserole with bacon, bell peppers, and a cheesy crouton base.

Breakfast Granola Cups

Edible containers of baked granola for yogurt and berries.

Country Sunday Breakfast Casserole

A hearty potato, sausage, and egg casserole that's perfect for Sunday brunch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States