Breakfast Corn Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Sasa's Kitchen
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
My husband and kids are in love! I did halve the sugar as suggested and they didn't even notice. I also made some with blackberry jam and some with cherry jam and they were just as amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
My husband polished off 3 of these before I could eat one. They are yummy! I always cut the sugar in recipes by 1/2 the amount called for and that worked great with this since I used all of the honey recommended. I only had stone ground whole wheat flour. The balance of flavors was superb, the muffins were moist and the texture was quite nice. Thanks so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Yummy! I made these as-is (except didn't use room temp eggs), and my kids (2 and 4) and husband loved them. They were easy to make and are a great snack--or quick breakfast :) Mine were already cooked after only 17 minutes, so I'd say keep an eye on them. Glad I found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Good recipe, not too complicated. Mine did get way too brown at 20 mins. I should have watched them. I don't think I got a fair taste for the muffins. I'll have to make them again and re rate. STill a great snack
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
would rate this four and a half. it was a little dry for my taste. i used home made blackberry jam instead of peanut butter and bananas.although i am not a peanut butter and bananas person.freezing works out great then you just toss them in the microwave with a mug and some water and it is moist and warm.great take along in winter if you don't mind the dryness. just set it on the front heater of your car and you will have some breakfast. you can use dry buttermilk and rehydrate it with water.do NOT let these over cook!would happily take these hunting early in the morning. overall it was a good recipe and if it were not for the honey i would make these all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cheflucas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
These muffins are delicious! Thank you for sharing. I followed mostly as written. Didn't worry too much about the room temp. eggs or the amount of peanut butter (I added more) or bananas. They turned out great. Light, fluffy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by k-k-k-katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I made these breakfast corn muffins GLUTEN FREE by simply using Corn Flour in place of the AP flour. The other change I did since I don't have buttermilk handy is to add a tablespoon of vinegar to milk (and allow to sit for 5 minutes). Everything else stayed the same and the soft gooey tastiness in the middle made if FANTASMIC! Great addition, Nikki! I wonder if it has anything to do with the substitution of the flour, but next time I will try adding more baking powder to see if the fluffiness factor will go up nicely. Otherwise, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I used a mixture of whole wheat white and organic AP flour. I also upped the baking powder just a bit to make a little fluffier corn muffin and I used a name brand peanut butter (I've had SO many issues using off brand peanut butter that I just automatically use name brand only because I can't afford to waste ingredients.) I was skeptical that my kids would like these but really, they loved it. They each were quiet at breakfast and seemed to really enjoy these. And you know, my husband liked them, too......which was even funnier. I like this idea so much I might run with it and try a peanut butter/jelly one. Thanks for the great new breakfast muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
It's hard for me to really rate these based on the recipe alone because I used jiffy mix instead of making the 'cornbread' from scratch. However, these are a really good idea for something different especially for the kids and I will tweak it a little next time to include masking the banana together with PB and using a little more of each to stand up to the cornbread flavor. Pretty good though, Nik.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momma4Lyfe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
You my friend, are a genius! These were delicious. I absolutely love anything with banana and peanut butter, so I saw these and had to give them a go. I omitted the sugar because I figured the honey would make it sweet enough, and it was perfect for my taste. Although normal people will probably want the sugar. I made a batch this morning for breakfast and heavens to Betsy they were good! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heath89

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Rogers, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Butter Pineapple Corn Muffins

See how to make amazing cornbread muffins.

BBQ Pork-Stuffed Corn Muffins

Watch how to make baked corn muffins stuffed with leftover BBQ pork.

Basic Corn Muffins

See how to make simple, versatile, and delicious corn muffins.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States