Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
Was not impressed. I've made many breakfast casserole variations and this was my least favorite so far. The chicken and ham combo was strange and didn't create a breakfasty flavor so I tried again with Sausage and bacon...still not good and not worth the calories that are in this thing. The potatoe chips are out of place on a breakfast casserole and the sour cream was way too much. The flavor is very bland...also the cook time on this is INCREDIBLY off unless the goal is uncooked potatoes. I baked mine for over an hour and finally got the desired texture. Not worth the effort unless you considerable change the recipe but adding more flavor with spices or a hot sauce if that's what you prefer. Loose the chips and butter...just add unnecessary fat and calories and not enough last or texture to matter. Less sour cream and either double the ham or double the chicken but don't mix the two. More cheese (I suggest a sharp cheddar for better flavor) and garlic or onion powder as well as the chopped onion (which by the way needs to be sauteed first if you stick with the original recipes). I'll make my own version of this again but not the original recipe as written here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JennRT929

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Easy, filling and tasty! We all loved this casserole. I kept to the recipe, except that I used fat free sour cream (and I just might have used more cheese....;) Delicious! The only thing I might do differently next time is to saute the onions before incorporating them. They were a little underdone. I also refrigerated it overnight, so I baked it for about a total of 1 hour and could have gone longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
This recipe could work with some adjustments. Next time I would use half the hash browns and add in a vegetable. Spinach, broccoli, peppers, something. I didn’t use the butter so maybe that’s why this tasted so bland. Needs garlic powder or cayenne or something to give some flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2009
I bring breakfast to my Sunday School class once a month, and it was a BIG hit. I agree with other reviews stating that it needed to cook longer. I cooked for 45 min, then added the chips and baked another 12 min. I also used 2 cups of ham (no chicken) and I omitted the butter. It still tasted great. I love bringing home empty dishes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2009
Loved it! I took advice and left off the extra butter but did add the chips, it was a surprisingly nice touch. I made two substitutions: french onion soup mix instead of an onion and turkey bacon instead of ham... fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
I took other's advice and left out the chips - but I imagine it would have been better with a crunchy topping. I cooked meat and onions a bit before adding, sour cream didn't smell right so I used some cream I had. I also took to heart opther comments it needed longer cooking time & I microwaved potatoes a bit before baking. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LOUDNOYES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Love this recipe but NO WAY do you need 2lbs frozen hashbrowns! I used a 1 lb bag of hashbrowns and about 3/4 of the sour cream/soup mixure. The cooking time was way off too. I cooked mine for 1hr and then an additional 15min with the potatoe chips. If its done right, this ones a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menlo Park, California, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sahes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Took this to my Bible Study Fellowship this morning and got RAVES! A half dozen ladies asked me for the recipe. I prepared it exactly as the recipe called for. I did use deli roasted chicken where it called for chicken. Also used Bob Evans seasoned hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Very Good! I made two breakfast casseroles for a group of people. This one was gone first. I used less drizzle of the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Potato, Sausage, & Egg Breakfast Casserole

A cheesy breakfast casserole with hash browns, sausage, and egg.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States