Breakfast Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
This is a great base recipe! I made it using frozen hashbrown potatoes, & it couldn't have been any easier. I did use fewer eggs, 10 instead of 12 & still came out perfect. Guests raved about it! Husband thought it was excellent with salsa on top. Will make over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
322 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
The key to this recipe is to use the 'potatoes o'brien' found in the frozen potato section in the grocery store. Thaw and then brown them in the skillet with the butter and some season salt. This cuts the prep/cook time considerably and makes it taste YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
227 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I used Hash browns O'Brien to make it easier and it tasted a lot better too. So much easier when you want a good breakfast just don't want the mess and lengthy cooking time either. Will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
178 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Crystal Lake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
I made this recipe for Christmas brunch along with my usual french toast casserole. I used frozen hash browns instead of fresh potatoes and Monterey Jack cheese w/Jalepenos instead of cheddar cheese. I also added diced cooked ham. My family enjoyed it very much. We ate some left overs for breakfast today and it tasted just as good. Thank you very much for the recipe. I will definitely be making this again. Next time, though, I do plan on using the baking potatoes and not the hash browns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2003
This was an awesome dish!! My husband raved about it and he's not a big breakfast fan. I did add a can of diced green chilies to the eggs and a little extra season salt and garlic to the potatoes while they were browning. I also used maple flavored sausage. I was a little worried how that would go with the green chilis, but it was really very good!!! This is definitly something I will make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
I made this recipe for my christmas eve brunch. My family raved about it. I will definitely make it again. I read the reviews & they were very helpful. I seasoned & pre-cooked the hashbrowns in the oven for about 15 minutes. (next time I will cook them in a little oil to make them crispier instead of baking them) I used 10 eggs & one cup of milk. I assembled the casserole as follows: potatoes, onions, bacon, & then egg mixture. This is a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2002
I'm not sure what to say about this. I liked it, but too many potatoes, and for some reason there was liquid in it, although I followed the recipe to a T. Anyone have any idea why that could have been? I baked it in a round casserole dish, had the sausage browned and drained, the potatoes and onions were cooked until tender, no added liquids at all, only the eggs.Next time I will cut down on the potatoes, but other than those two things it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2002
Absolutely wonderful! I added some mushrooms and used Colby Jack cheese instead of cheddar. Also, I cut some time and created more flavor by using frozen hash browns with onions and peppers. Then I used pork sausage seasoned with sage. My weekend guests loved it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2001
Potatoes can be cooked in microwave faster and also try adding a touch of savory and oregano with black pepper. I used Italian sausage another time, and it was great. Also try topping the casserole with juicy sliced tomatoes!!!! Absolutely wonderful Chris Curtis from Canada
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
This was a little heavy on the potatoes. Next time, I think I will use half the amount of potatoes and keep the rest of the recipe the same. That might make it a little more like an omelette, but I think that will be good also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States