Breakfast Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Wow, a new favorite breakfast casserole!!! I absolutely can not believe how great this turned out. Following previous suggestions, I made a few minor tweaks. (And also to lower the fat/calories significantly.) I used garlic and herb seasoned shredded hashbrowns, cooked per package instructions. I also subbed out vegan sausage which I sauteed with chopped onion. Instead of a dozen eggs, I used 2 whole eggs and egg substitute in the equivalent of 7 eggs, which I beat with 2 TBPS fat free sour cream. (Gives eggs a nice fluffy texture.) The cheese layer as fat free cheddar. For assembly, I used a greased deep round Pyrex dish, and layered per recipe instructions. It was the perfect amount for this size casserole and looked really nice when the eggs puffed up on top. It took closer to 45 minutes total cook time. At the last ten minutes, I added a handful of reduced fat cheddar to the top and let that melt and brown. Turned out absolutely amazing and relatively guilt free!! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My family enjoyed this. I took the others suggestion of using bacon grease to fry onion, bell pepper & frozen hash browns. The family liked it but I thought it was a little greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Love it, I make it often for co-workers. I sometimes add a layer of steamed broccoli and cauliflower on top of the potato for my healthy friends. It was a huge hit. I love it both ways. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This dish was awesome. I'm stuck in China right now, so don't have access to the traditional American foods like hash browns. I did what the recipe said, without the seasoning salt, and it was delicious!Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This was very good, I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Really good, simple and satisfying. I didn't entirely follow the recipe since I omitted the baking step for the potatoes and also only used 3 (plenty). I peeled, cubed and sauteed the potatoes with a combination of oil and butter. I added the seasoned salt as specified, but I didn't measure it. I'm used to eyeballing my seasonings. The sausage I used was spicy which helps with flavor and made a difference in the overall outcome (IMO). I added milk to the eggs and ended up baking this closer to 45/50 minutes as my eggs were not set in the half hour stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
ok here is my 2 cents. I cooked 3 new potatoes in the microwave cut them up and browned them. I had no onion so added onion powder garlic powder, red pepper flakes and Italian seasoning while frying potatoes. Had no sausage so cut up what bacon I had and fried that.(about 6 slices.) I added parsley and fresh basil to the eggs. I also had a little chunk of mozzarella so added it with the cheddar. Used no seasoning salt. My husband said "you could sell this stuff" Also I only had 7 eggs. Was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Good and easy. I added some sliced jalapenos for added kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
I cooked this for a camp .... 28 people. It was a HUGE hit. They absolutely loved it. Kids who don't usually like caseroles or cheese were coming back for seconds and thirds. I reduced the eggs a tiny bit...10 instead of 12. I also used more sausage than it asked for. I recomend having ketuchup on hand for the ketchup lovers....goes perfectly with it. I will definetly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Thanks for the recipe. I used thawed hashbrowns, sliced chicken sausage, added fried mushrooms and green onions to egg mixture, turned out great even though I didn't have seasoning salt( just salt and pepper instead). Easy peasy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sofia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 232) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Cheesy Amish Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a cheesy breakfast casserole with bacon and hash browns.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States