Breakfast Casserole III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
The time and trouble to cook and peel the potatoes detracted from this recipe, but worst of all, following the cook times given, the casserole wasn't baked in time for the brunch I was taking it to. It needed an extra 10-15 min, and still the potatoes were not done (I have a gas oven). Also, taste was very bland (and I added a bit of minced garlic to it as well).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Zella
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I made this today! The flavor was excellent and the ingredients were all so simple. I was a little disappointed with the details of the the ingredients. I would recommend the potatoes be finely chopped into bite side pieces, i cut them in cubes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great recipe. Had many compliments and requests for it. I used shredded hash browns and lightly browned them in the oven before adding the rest of the ingredients on top. I also used maple flavored sausage and added spinach. Very yummy. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Wow, a new favorite breakfast casserole!!! I absolutely can not believe how great this turned out. Following previous suggestions, I made a few minor tweaks. (And also to lower the fat/calories significantly.) I used garlic and herb seasoned shredded hashbrowns, cooked per package instructions. I also subbed out vegan sausage which I sauteed with chopped onion. Instead of a dozen eggs, I used 2 whole eggs and egg substitute in the equivalent of 7 eggs, which I beat with 2 TBPS fat free sour cream. (Gives eggs a nice fluffy texture.) The cheese layer as fat free cheddar. For assembly, I used a greased deep round Pyrex dish, and layered per recipe instructions. It was the perfect amount for this size casserole and looked really nice when the eggs puffed up on top. It took closer to 45 minutes total cook time. At the last ten minutes, I added a handful of reduced fat cheddar to the top and let that melt and brown. Turned out absolutely amazing and relatively guilt free!! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
My family enjoyed this. I took the others suggestion of using bacon grease to fry onion, bell pepper & frozen hash browns. The family liked it but I thought it was a little greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Love it, I make it often for co-workers. I sometimes add a layer of steamed broccoli and cauliflower on top of the potato for my healthy friends. It was a huge hit. I love it both ways. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
This dish was awesome. I'm stuck in China right now, so don't have access to the traditional American foods like hash browns. I did what the recipe said, without the seasoning salt, and it was delicious!Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
This was very good, I will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heavensway

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Really good, simple and satisfying. I didn't entirely follow the recipe since I omitted the baking step for the potatoes and also only used 3 (plenty). I peeled, cubed and sauteed the potatoes with a combination of oil and butter. I added the seasoned salt as specified, but I didn't measure it. I'm used to eyeballing my seasonings. The sausage I used was spicy which helps with flavor and made a difference in the overall outcome (IMO). I added milk to the eggs and ended up baking this closer to 45/50 minutes as my eggs were not set in the half hour stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
ok here is my 2 cents. I cooked 3 new potatoes in the microwave cut them up and browned them. I had no onion so added onion powder garlic powder, red pepper flakes and Italian seasoning while frying potatoes. Had no sausage so cut up what bacon I had and fried that.(about 6 slices.) I added parsley and fresh basil to the eggs. I also had a little chunk of mozzarella so added it with the cheddar. Used no seasoning salt. My husband said "you could sell this stuff" Also I only had 7 eggs. Was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States