Breakfast Casserole II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I couldn't find potato crowns (flatter, larger diameter) so I used tater tots (longer, narrower) which are the basically the same thing. My casserole baked for the full 50 min, plus additional 10 for melting the cheese. I did not thaw the tater tots and it turned out perfect. Now that I have "tested" the recipe, I will most likely add onion, garlic, and bell pepper while browning the sausage and will probably have to extend the cooking time by 5 min. since onions and peppers have a lot of water in them. I will also top with more cheese or add cheese to the mix or both.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mahtomedi, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Sparks, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Deelish! I sautéed onions and red bell peppers and added with the sausage. I also layered as others did: tots, sausage, onions/peppers, egg mixture. It sat in the fridge over night and I baked it the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Awesome year after year with a few changes. I used southwest seasoned hash browns and southwest egg beaters. Added a little garlic too. Everyone loves this Christmas morning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This recipe was fabulous! It was hard for me to keep my husband from eating the entire casserole! I made a few improvements which I think made it very flavorful. First I sauteed some onion and garlic in olive oil, then cooked sweet italian (turkey) sausage with the garlic and onion. I also substituted the condensed cream of mushroom soup for greek yogurt, and added 1/2 teaspoon of white pepper and 1/2 teaspoon of ground mustard. (I also thought 32oz of potatoes was A LOT; I only used ~16oz.) Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
We've tried a lot of breakfast casseroles for Christmas morning, and this is my family's favorite. I even make it for my neighbors! We enjoy the ease and they heartiness of this dish. My family looks forward to Christmas because, not only are they going to get Christmas dinner and baking, but they know this is for breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcallen, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Made my own cream of mushroom soup and split it between two pans. Baked for 35 minutes and removed one to cool and freeze. Cooked the other one additional 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Assumption, Illinois, USA
Living In: Heyworth, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great recipe and so flavorful. I love the taste that you get from the potato patty/tater tot. I did add some extra veggies when sauteing the sausage and some red pepper flakes to the eggs. Will surely be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gloria Wirhowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Kingston, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Wonderful change from my old tried and true that is boreing. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Made it exactly as the recipe said..bland, bland, bland. Needs considerable amount of flavors (spices, jalapeno bits, etc) added to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherman Oaks, California, USA
Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I make this often when I have large groups of people coming for breakfast. I love that you can make the night before and just put in the oven in the morning. The recipe is just fine as is but I usually add other ingredients that I may have on hand, such as red or green pepper or spinach. I also add a little more cheese on the top and cook it until the cheese is nice and brown. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 399) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Make-Ahead Breakfast Casserole

Go easy on yourself with this make-ahead breakfast casserole.

Easter Breakfast Casserole

This eggy Easter treat boasts bacon, cheese, hash browns, and veggies.

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States