Breakfast Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
It was a great cake!! I will for sure make it again! The only thing I did different was I baked it in a pie pan it came out wonderfully!! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
i read all the comments and thought that this would be a bland, flavorless cake. It really isn't. I actually thought it was pretty good and my family liked it too. I would suggest that you add a little bit more brown sugar, cinnamon, and milk. That's it. Don't change the recipe all around and then say that its bad cause its not if you just follow the recipe. Lastly, DONT SHORTEN THE COOKING TIME!!!!! Mine came out perfectly in about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingstar13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2010
Well I know the batter tastes awesome!!! So the whole thing better be killer too..lol. I changed things of course as that is the only way I cook. I made the basics per the recipe..but I dont like shortening so I used Smart Balance 50/50, and added one egg to sugar, butter, vanilla mixture..I also added one additional tsp of baking powder. I didnt measure the brown sugar and cinnamon and pretty sure I made more than double. I put half into a bowl and added 1/3 cup of batter and stirred it until smooth. I then dotted the top of the batter in the pan with that and swirled it in. I then topped it with the remaining brown sugar and cinnamon mixture and put in the oven. When it comes out and is cool I will also drizzle with some powdered sugar glaze. I cant wait to eat it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Re
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
My family and I enjoyed it. I added more shortening, which I replaced with margarine. I also added cinnamon to the batter instead of just the top. I added a very generous amount of brown sugar topping topping. Delightful. Next time I may add a bit more sugar...but we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Loved this! Super moist and delicious. I used coconut oil in place of shortening, threw in a handful of mini chocolate chips and a dash of cinnamon in the batter. I also baked it at 350. Will try it with frozen blueberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
made this for my kids for breakfast and it was a huge hit! we loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jackie Sue
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This came out great for us. I didn't read any reviews until after I made it. I made CupCakes instead of a cake and didn't have any rising problems. I did substitute butter (real, no salt) for the shortening. I did add more topping of brown sugar and cinnamon. Yum, great with coffee or milk. It's really a 'coffee cake' like taste/consistency and it's not too bad for breakfast, hence the name it was given. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Photo by julianamilito
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
the cake rose really well and smelt and looked great i baked it at 350 for 20 minutes and it came out perfect. the cake itself is slightly bland but the topping is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Changed up the recipe and it was a nice light cake. 1 1/4 cup of milk, 1 1/4 tsp baking soda, one egg, added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and of cinnamon to the batter. Made a topping with 2 Tbs butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon to top it off. 35 minutes was a little long for a ceramic pan, though. Will try 30 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I took everyone's advice on the butter instead of shortening-that was fine. Added some honey, chopped dates and walnuts (great extra flavor!) But in the end, I wished I had put it in a bread pan.. very flat and not too much taste. But- good for an eggless sweet bread! Smells great in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eebrandee

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States