Breakfast Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2003
I thought this cake had a good taste to it. It also gave my kitchen a great aroma of cinnamon while it was cooking! It didn't rise as much as I wished it would, but it was pretty easy to make and my family and I still liked it. It also took only about 20 or 25 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMMSEJS

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
i read all the comments and thought that this would be a bland, flavorless cake. It really isn't. I actually thought it was pretty good and my family liked it too. I would suggest that you add a little bit more brown sugar, cinnamon, and milk. That's it. Don't change the recipe all around and then say that its bad cause its not if you just follow the recipe. Lastly, DONT SHORTEN THE COOKING TIME!!!!! Mine came out perfectly in about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingstar13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2003
I was disappointed to find this cake flat and a little bland. It came out more like an overcooked pancake. The topping on it was nice but the bake time on is much too long. Keep an eye on it and take it out when an inserted toothpick comes out clean from the middle (more like 20 min).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I read others' comments and before putting it in the oven, I added an extra dash of baking powder (to fix any problems with rising) and I added 3 dashes of salt, one egg, I doubled the amount of vanilla, i added a dash of cinnamon to the cake mix, and I only cooked it for 15 minutes. It turned out pretty good and it has a lot of good flavor. I didn't have problems with it being rubbery or flat like a pancake. I would definately recommend atleast adding one egg to boost flavor! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by juststardust
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I took the advice of another reviewer, and added a bit more milk, sugar and vanilla. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by juststardust
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
I made this because I wanted coffee cake but didn't have any eggs on hand. I took the suggestion of others and used butter instead of shortening. I also added a tsp of cinnamon, a pinch of cardamom and a dash of nutmeg to the batter. Instead of the brown sugar and cinnamon on top I made a crumb topping by mixing 1 c of flour, 4 TBSP melted butter, 3/4 c brown sugar and 1 tsp cinnamon and sprinkled it on the batter before putting it in the oven. This won't become my favorite coffee cake, but it is very good and I would make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Healthy Witness
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This came out great for us. I didn't read any reviews until after I made it. I made CupCakes instead of a cake and didn't have any rising problems. I did substitute butter (real, no salt) for the shortening. I did add more topping of brown sugar and cinnamon. Yum, great with coffee or milk. It's really a 'coffee cake' like taste/consistency and it's not too bad for breakfast, hence the name it was given. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthy Witness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I like it! Turned out well, although I only baked it about 20 minutes and it was fine. Also I substituted butter for shortening, and for the topping I used this recipe: 3/4 cup flour 1/2 cup dark brown sugar 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon 4 tablespoons butter Very good, will definatley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marshmallow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Try adding 4 Tbsp Butter to the top, cut into small pieces over the top before baking. This adds moistness to the cake. It also allows some of the brown sugar to melt down through, and really adds to the breakfast cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Chose this as I was looking for something withou eggs for breakfast. Seriously lacking depth of flavor - very sweet - perhaps use butter instead of shortening, cut back on the sugar a little, add a pinch of salt and cinnamon in the batter? It was rubbery after 25 mins of cooking but the sugar on top hadn't melted so am eating uncooked cinnamon with every sweet rubbery bite.... don't think I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States