Breakfast Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by Healthy Witness
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This came out great for us. I didn't read any reviews until after I made it. I made CupCakes instead of a cake and didn't have any rising problems. I did substitute butter (real, no salt) for the shortening. I did add more topping of brown sugar and cinnamon. Yum, great with coffee or milk. It's really a 'coffee cake' like taste/consistency and it's not too bad for breakfast, hence the name it was given. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Healthy Witness

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
If you make this recipe expecting a cake, you will be disappointed. It's really more like a bread sort of thing. If you have that in mind, this recipe isn't bad. Following the reviews of others, I blended an egg into the creamed mixture (in which I used margerine because I didn't have shortening). This did make it rise a bit, but it's a very dense kind of cake. I put a dash of lemon juice into the milk to thicken it a bit with traditional coffee cake (which uses sour cream) in mind. I baked it at 350 for only about 20 minutes. It's not too bad, in the end, but again, not like traditional coffee cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
I made the mistake of following the directions as written. :-( End result was an overdone, flat, tasteless brick. It frustrates me when people take a recipe like this that is fundamentally broken. FIX IT, then rate 5 stars, so a moron like me thinks the recipe is actually good. Needs to cook for half of the time stated Needs twice the baking powder Needs something in the dough for flavor, other than sugar, flour, and a few drops of vanilla. Pan size is incorrect for ingredients listed, needs a much smaller pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Loved this! Super moist and delicious. I used coconut oil in place of shortening, threw in a handful of mini chocolate chips and a dash of cinnamon in the batter. I also baked it at 350. Will try it with frozen blueberries next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Guilderland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
i read all the comments and thought that this would be a bland, flavorless cake. It really isn't. I actually thought it was pretty good and my family liked it too. I would suggest that you add a little bit more brown sugar, cinnamon, and milk. That's it. Don't change the recipe all around and then say that its bad cause its not if you just follow the recipe. Lastly, DONT SHORTEN THE COOKING TIME!!!!! Mine came out perfectly in about 40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookingstar13

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
It isnt bad, it just isn't that good! I baked this twice in one day. The first time, followed recipe exactly. Came out with a lumpy dry glob that no way could POUR into any baking dish! It tasted flat, too. And the baking time was waaaaaaay too long. Second time, I used 3 tbs of oil instead of shortening and a dash more milk, increased brown sugar topping to 1/3 cup. That was a lot better. Still reminded me of a cake shaped pancake, with cinnamon topping. But actually went well with coffee and I know all the ingredients in it, unlike the boxed/packaged junk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
Very easy and simple. Very nice if you just need something settling. Family loved! I thought they were pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
I like it! Turned out well, although I only baked it about 20 minutes and it was fine. Also I substituted butter for shortening, and for the topping I used this recipe: 3/4 cup flour 1/2 cup dark brown sugar 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon 4 tablespoons butter Very good, will definatley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marshmallow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mifflinburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
The recipe itself was OK. I tweeked a few things and got it to where I liked it. I added apples, much more cinnamon, nutmeg, more baking powder, some baking soda, and some lemon zest. The cooking time was also about 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westfield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I read others' comments and before putting it in the oven, I added an extra dash of baking powder (to fix any problems with rising) and I added 3 dashes of salt, one egg, I doubled the amount of vanilla, i added a dash of cinnamon to the cake mix, and I only cooked it for 15 minutes. It turned out pretty good and it has a lot of good flavor. I didn't have problems with it being rubbery or flat like a pancake. I would definately recommend atleast adding one egg to boost flavor! Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

How to Make Breakfast Casseroles

See how to make savory or sweet breakfast casseroles in advance.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States