Breakfast Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
i was in a pinch and needed breakfast but didn't have eggs, so i tried this. i used mayo instead of shortening (also not on hand) and it turned out fine with that. I also doubled the brown sugar for the top. It doesn't rise much and comes out like a dense but moist cake about an inch thick. baked for the time stated and it was fine. also, i just mixed the wet, mixed the dry, then combined the two and that was no problem either. Good recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
The taste factor was great, but this cake is very dry and really dense. I followed the instructions with one exception - I had to substitute the shortening with butter. As I have read from others perhaps adding egg to this recipe will help with the flat outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dippin Dots

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2014
No flavor at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by julianamilito
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
the cake rose really well and smelt and looked great i baked it at 350 for 20 minutes and it came out perfect. the cake itself is slightly bland but the topping is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ms. Re
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
My family and I enjoyed it. I added more shortening, which I replaced with margarine. I also added cinnamon to the batter instead of just the top. I added a very generous amount of brown sugar topping topping. Delightful. Next time I may add a bit more sugar...but we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2013
Changed up the recipe and it was a nice light cake. 1 1/4 cup of milk, 1 1/4 tsp baking soda, one egg, added 1/4 tsp of nutmeg and of cinnamon to the batter. Made a topping with 2 Tbs butter, 1/2 cup brown sugar and 1/2 tsp cinnamon to top it off. 35 minutes was a little long for a ceramic pan, though. Will try 30 minutes next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Dry, bland and flat. Needs eggs, more butter and more flavor...definately will not make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Positives: It's light on calories, easy to whip up, requires very few ingredients (and no ingredients that are obscure), and requires little time to bake. Negatives: The topping is good, but the cake itself is flavorless. I might do a cinnamon-brown sugar swirl inside to help. Or, as others have suggested, add more vanilla. Also, in a 9x13 pan, it came out kind of flat. Either you need to 1.5 the recipe amounts, or try a loaf pan 3/4 full (doesn't rise much) or possibly an 11x7.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
made this for my kids for breakfast and it was a huge hit! we loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
It was a great cake!! I will for sure make it again! The only thing I did different was I baked it in a pie pan it came out wonderfully!! Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States