Breakfast Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2015
I didn't have rice milk so I used almond milk and it worked. Loved the moisture and taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2015
For gluten free, these are good. I've made them a couple of times and changed it up according to what I have on hand. Applesauce or berries instead of bananas - or both. Also good with a few added chocolate chips and nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2015
Delicious recipe, everyone loved it, next time will try to add cocoa powder or chocolate chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kari Faith
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
These are amazing!!!! I used cream of wheat instead of flax, it's very good like that!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
The banana is really strong. I think next time I'll use apples. But overall they weren't too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
This recipe was a good start, but i made a number if changes. I didn't use any flax seed and added 1/2 cup cocoa powder and a handful of chocolate chips. I didn't adjust the liquid at all and it turned out great. I really enjoyed them and will make it again. My boyfriend hates them though. He said they were nothing like brownies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Garvin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2015
If you make these expecting the fudgey sweet decadence of traditional brownies, you'll be disappointed. If you're looking for a relatively palatable, somewhat healthy portable breakfast with a touch of sweetness, then you might enjoy these. I found some great ideas in the reviews but to be fair, wanted to rate the original recipe. I hate when folks change every ingredient then give a recipe 5 stars...you're rating your own recipe, or 1 star because it didn't turn out...not the recipe's fault when you change everything! SO I made 2 batches of these babies, 1 as written and 1 to play with. Either way, they were just ok. As written, we thought they were a little dry and the banana was not my favorite...might like pumpkin better? Not sure. For the other batch, I did as others suggested and added 1/2c cocoa powder. Also used 1/2c unsweetened applesauce instead of the banana, 1/2c nonfat buttermilk instead of the 1/4c rice milk, 2 eggs instead of 1, and 2 tablespoons of white sugar in addition to the brown. I baked both batches in 8x8 glass Pyrex dishes. The result was 2 pans of thick and chewy 'brownies'. The chocolate batch was less dry but still just ok. I probably won't make these again but they were fun to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Liked these pretty well. They turned out much more cake-like than brownie-like. After reading the reviews, I decided to add the 1/2 c cocoa powder for flavor. Many said it was dry or dried out quickly. So I also cut the flax meal (which is quite absorbent) to 1/2 c and added another egg and additional almond milk until the consistency was more batter-like. I am gluten-free so used a gluten-free flour. They came out quite moist and have stayed that way in an air-tight container for 3 days so far, though there's not much left. Will make again, but definitely still needs something. They are really good with almond butter spread on top. I may try adding it to the batter next time. Maybe another banana, maybe some chopped nuts, maybe coconut. Since it's for breakfast, and I'd like it to be relatively healthy, I don't want to go the chocolate chip route as others have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I made these for my son breakfast. He is a picky eater and he cannot bring anything with peanut or nuts to school. Ineeded something that he can quickly eat or else he get bored. the only change I made was to add cocoa powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pincourt, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Kids said they were too dry and refused to eat them; hubbie thought the oats were too "hard"! He and I enjoyed the flavor; I did add the 1/2 cup cocoa for a chocolate touch. Might try again, but will probably cook or soak oats to soften them and double egg & milk for a moister brownie, I hope! If I do make them again, will report back. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States