Breakfast Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Liked these pretty well. They turned out much more cake-like than brownie-like. After reading the reviews, I decided to add the 1/2 c cocoa powder for flavor. Many said it was dry or dried out quickly. So I also cut the flax meal (which is quite absorbent) to 1/2 c and added another egg and additional almond milk until the consistency was more batter-like. I am gluten-free so used a gluten-free flour. They came out quite moist and have stayed that way in an air-tight container for 3 days so far, though there's not much left. Will make again, but definitely still needs something. They are really good with almond butter spread on top. I may try adding it to the batter next time. Maybe another banana, maybe some chopped nuts, maybe coconut. Since it's for breakfast, and I'd like it to be relatively healthy, I don't want to go the chocolate chip route as others have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I made these for my son breakfast. He is a picky eater and he cannot bring anything with peanut or nuts to school. Ineeded something that he can quickly eat or else he get bored. the only change I made was to add cocoa powder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pincourt, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Kids said they were too dry and refused to eat them; hubbie thought the oats were too "hard"! He and I enjoyed the flavor; I did add the 1/2 cup cocoa for a chocolate touch. Might try again, but will probably cook or soak oats to soften them and double egg & milk for a moister brownie, I hope! If I do make them again, will report back. ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This was just what I was looking for! I did add a little coconut oil and chocolate chips. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
These are easy to make. My 11 yr old daughter made them. We followed the recipe exactly, except used coconut palm sugar instead (1 for 1 substitute). I love them as is, however, I'm going to play around for variety and try some of the other suggestions like cocoa powder, more spices, shredded coconut or maybe chocolate chips. I used King Arthur gluten free all purpose flour for my gf flour. I think I'll try low fat soy or almond milk next time, they have fewer calories than the rice milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I tried adding the extra ingredients, the coco powder and chocolate chips and it didn't turn out well. I found it to be very dry and it had too much chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Wanted something new for breakfast, was not disappointed with these. Also added a few dairy/nut/soy free mini chips, but they are pretty tasty even without the chocolates. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stef Miller

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
Can something be called a brownie without chocolate or carob? I added 1/2 cup of unsweetened dark chocolate powder and 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips. I used regular all-purpose flour and cow's milk. It was a very good snack and breakfast on-the-run. I may even try it without the chocolate next time. Thanks for the base recipe, Darien1!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by eatsREALfood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rogersville, Tennessee, USA
Photo by Twinmommie
Reviewed: May 10, 2013
I added the extra ingredients (1/2 c cocoa, 1/2 c chocolate chips and 1/4 c oil) and it came out great. It's very hearty, moist and not overly sweet. I used whole wheat pastry flour and regular milk. As with regular brownies, it goes great with milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Coming back to update my original review....these are wonderful right after being baked but after a day or so they are very dry and not very good. I cut them into serving size pieces and froze some but they didn't fare any better when not warm and fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Brownies

Moist and fudgy, these 5-star brownies are deliciously decadent.

Chocolate Mint Brownies

See the easiest way to make dense, chewy-style chocolate brownies.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States