Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2006
This is an excellent bread Makes good toast the 2nd time Imade it added three tsp sugar instead of two and one and a half tsp salt instead of one Makes a big difference in taste
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2002
This was the first loaf of bread I've ever attempted to make. It was quite easy to do. The bread was dense which is what I was going after for French toast. Cakey. On it's own, it's a bit bland. Otherwise, very nice loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2000
i made this bread this morning, and found it to be possibly the best loaf of bread i have ever made. this is a superior loaf of white bread,. i have been making bread for forty years, and this one is tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2002
WONDERFUL tasting bread and toast... Great texture. I used 1 TBS brown sugar and 1TBS white sugar. I used my KitchenAid stand mixer and needed an additional 1/2 C or so of flour to get the proper texture. Thanks for this great bread recipe!!! Paul
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2003
Great! Per another, I used 1 tbls wht sugar and 1 tbls brown sugar. I also added a tsp of cinnamon. Wonderful bread, esspecially with honey! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2000
I found this to be a delicious, hearty bread. My husband loved it. It makes super sandwiches, slices very well, and has no yeasty taste whatsoever. Toasting this bread brings it to life! Try it with breakfast, with sandwiches, or as a bread with dinner - it's perfect anytime. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
This is a very simple white bread. It made wonderful bread pudding and french toast but, on it's own, the flavor was a little bland for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2001
This bread tastes great and is perfect for a marvelous brunch. However it does take plenty of time to let the bread rise so make sure you have the time. I especially liked it right pout of the oven!! Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I made this in the bread machine and it did NOT turn out to my satisfaction. Way too dense, with a texture like cardboard. Maybe my pitfall was in trying to make it in a bread machine, but I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
good basic bread recipe. i used salted butter and omitted the salt. when i make it again i will add more salt because i found the flavor a little bland. would make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States