Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Very good for toast. I made this, let it cool and hubs had cut and eaten part of the loaf before I could even do anything with it, so I guess that means this is a success! It's very easy, and I used Kosher salt instead of regular to see if that helped, since a lot of reviews commented it needed more salt. Yeah, maybe, but a lot of breads are pretty bland--you don't want a flavorful bread if you want a bread to be good for pb and j sandwiches as well as meat sandwhiches. It was a good way to get rid of some milk. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by esterolynn
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I do not bake bread usually. Maybe I have baked bread 5 or 6 times in my life with varing results. I have been cooking for almost 60 years. I liked the looks of this recipe and, so, I baked this bread today. I only used 6 cups of flour (bread flour) because I felt it came together at 6 cups (I do not think I could have put in 7 cups) and used salted butter omitting the salt. It needs some salt. I am so pleased with this bread. It came out of the oven just perfect and the crumb is beautiful. It is a dense, toasting kind of bread and I will be making it again very soon. Next time I will use the dough hook on my mixer...much easier I would guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I made this in the bread machine and it did NOT turn out to my satisfaction. Way too dense, with a texture like cardboard. Maybe my pitfall was in trying to make it in a bread machine, but I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I love this bread. We also for a little added flavor have been adding fresh basil (diced) to the dough and bake. Comes out with a nice basil smell and tastes amazing with some butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I'm thinking that this is one of the best loaves of bread I've ever made. The texture is awesome...nice and light and fluffy. However, I do agree that it needs added salt and sugar. I will add more of those next time and report back :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I halved the recipe and increase the sugar and salt. It's great. But I expect it will be dense like photo. Is it bcos I let my 2nd rise more than 30 minutes? I tried Traditional White Bread from this site, I think the texture and taste were alike. I thought it would be different since it contains egg and milk. But it didn't. But after all, still a great recipe. And nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Yummy when toasted (Even days later!) and made into a sandwich. It's really bland on its own... it definitely needs toasting! I'll follow another reviewer's suggestions on increasing the sugar and the salt next time. It was nice and soft, but my dad thought it wasn't fluffy enough. I thought it was good though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
good basic bread recipe. i used salted butter and omitted the salt. when i make it again i will add more salt because i found the flavor a little bland. would make again though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
this was easy and tastes great. just a simple recipe for simple white bread. i'm sure i'll do this many times!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
This was really simple to make. Not my Favorite tasting bread, but it was still good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Monkey Bread I

It’s so easy to make fun, delicious monkey bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States