Breakfast Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
this (to me) is a pretty good bread recipe. it's easy and a beginner like myself can make these. they have a small sweet taste. i really like this recipe and so do my boys:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma Esquivel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Easy and tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I read all the reviews and took some adjustments into consideration. It is beyond me how it is even possible that less than 3 cups of liquid can support 7 cups of flour. I followed the directions to the T and after adding the first 3 cups of flour, the dough was already very dense. I tried adding the next 1/2 cup and had trouble kneading it. The other 1/2 cup was even worse to knead in. I finally gave up and placed it in the oven to proof. It stayed in there over night and barely rose the next day. I cut it in half and placed it in two loaf pans and returned it to the oven to proof again. No luck there either. Finally cooked it and it was so dense and bland. Will not make this again. Can someone tell me what I did wrong? My yeast was live and I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nenelson
Reviewed: May 4, 2013
I cut the recipe in half, but still used 1 whole egg. I lightly brushed the top with salted butter. It turned out wonderfully! Very dense and tasty. I'll be making this one quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Very good for toast. I made this, let it cool and hubs had cut and eaten part of the loaf before I could even do anything with it, so I guess that means this is a success! It's very easy, and I used Kosher salt instead of regular to see if that helped, since a lot of reviews commented it needed more salt. Yeah, maybe, but a lot of breads are pretty bland--you don't want a flavorful bread if you want a bread to be good for pb and j sandwiches as well as meat sandwhiches. It was a good way to get rid of some milk. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by esterolynn
Reviewed: May 24, 2011
I do not bake bread usually. Maybe I have baked bread 5 or 6 times in my life with varing results. I have been cooking for almost 60 years. I liked the looks of this recipe and, so, I baked this bread today. I only used 6 cups of flour (bread flour) because I felt it came together at 6 cups (I do not think I could have put in 7 cups) and used salted butter omitting the salt. It needs some salt. I am so pleased with this bread. It came out of the oven just perfect and the crumb is beautiful. It is a dense, toasting kind of bread and I will be making it again very soon. Next time I will use the dough hook on my mixer...much easier I would guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
I made this in the bread machine and it did NOT turn out to my satisfaction. Way too dense, with a texture like cardboard. Maybe my pitfall was in trying to make it in a bread machine, but I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABALONE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kidron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I love this bread. We also for a little added flavor have been adding fresh basil (diced) to the dough and bake. Comes out with a nice basil smell and tastes amazing with some butter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I'm thinking that this is one of the best loaves of bread I've ever made. The texture is awesome...nice and light and fluffy. However, I do agree that it needs added salt and sugar. I will add more of those next time and report back :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I halved the recipe and increase the sugar and salt. It's great. But I expect it will be dense like photo. Is it bcos I let my 2nd rise more than 30 minutes? I tried Traditional White Bread from this site, I think the texture and taste were alike. I thought it would be different since it contains egg and milk. But it didn't. But after all, still a great recipe. And nutritious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lia

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bandung, Jawa Barat, Indonesia

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make No-Knead Beer Bread

Watch how to make a simple, rustic beer bread.

Grandma VanDoren’s White Bread

Mmm, delicious homemade bread just like grandma used to make.

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States