Breadsticks with Parmesan Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Incredible. I halved the recipe (17 servings) and used one egg (instead of a half egg which the halved recipe suggests) and they turned out amazing. The lightest and fluffiest breadsticks ever. They definitely rival Olive Garden's! I will be tweaking the topping mixture a bit. I want more garlicky zip. I added some italian seasoning to the mix to make them look extra pretty. They were AmaZinG. I will be making these the rest of my life-thank you thank you! O, and for what it's worth- I am a very experienced bread/roll baker. I know good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachelle Vernon Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2007
YUMMY made from scratch breadsticks! I ended up using closer to 5 1/2 or 6 c of bread flour. Instead of making the Parmesan butter, I added 1/2c grated Parm cheese, 3/4t Italian seasonings, and 1t garlic powder to the dough. These were AMAZING & I know I'll be making them again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ramsey, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Oh wow- I loved these!! I cut the recipe in half (18 servings) and used only the egg yolk. I also subbed one cup of the AP flour with white whole wheat flour. I tried adding as little flour as possible while kneading them, but the dough was impossible to work with. I probably added around 1/2-3/4 cup extra. I also added about 1 tsp. of Italian seasoning to the dough. As they were baking, I melted 2 tsp. butter and added a few sprinkles of garlic salt to that. I brushed this mixture over the breadsticks as soon as they came out of the oven, and then topped them with shredded parmesan. These were soooo good, light and fluffy, and flavorful!! We had these for dinner tonight with a green salad. They were popular with the whole family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2007
These were great! We loved them! However, I changed a couple of things. I used whole wheat flour, and needed quite a bit more than the recipe called for. Rather than make the parmesan butter, I just brushed the sticks with olive oil and sprinkled on the parmesan, garlic powder and some coarse salt before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Perfect as is, although I have changed the recipe by over time. I halve the recipe using one whole egg, and substitute one cup AP floud with whole wheat. Definately a keeper! Also, I brush all the butter mixture on before baking. And I mix the dough in my bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
THESE ROCK! They are the perfect taste and texture- we LOVED them. I made extra to freexze for later. I also spread hald of the butter mixture on before baking and then put the remaining on right after I took them out of the oven! These will be a favoirtie for years to come!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitchen Queen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sugar City, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
These were excellent. I, too, had to add more flour. I tried to work with it as is, but it was way too sticky to knead. I probably added an extra cup of flour, but they turned out wonderful! Just what I was looking for! I brushed the parmesan butter on the breadsticks as soon as they came out of the oven. The only thing I don't like is that this recipe can't be halved easily. This makes a ton of breadsticks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Farmington, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Awesome! I made these for dinner while in Italy over the holidays, they were a hit with the manicotti. I did add some garlic and parmesean to the dough for a little more flavor. All 36 breadsticks were devoured in one night! No left overs. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mblahblah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very tasty but iIt was really hard to work with this dough. My sticks looked lumpy and out of shape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2008
These are very good. The second time I made them I cut the recipe in 1/2 though because it makes so many...everyone who stopped over that day went home with a few breadsticks ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States