Breadsticks with Parmesan Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
These breadsticks are awesome! I've never had alot of success with yeast breads but these were very easy to make and turned out great. I did need more flour than was called for but I expected that after reading the other reviews. I added some Italian Seasoning to the dough and I brushed the Parmesan Butter on top of half of them before I baked them, leaving the other half plain. I served them with homemade pizza and we dipped them in pizza sauce and the remaining butter mixture. They are like little loaves of bread!! I served the plain ones for breakfast this morning with jelly! Yummy! I also used some of the dough to make dinner rolls for tonights dinner. I just formed the dough into balls instead of sticks and put them into a greased pie plate to rise then baked them. They came out perfect!! They baked all the way through and the sides were touching. Next time I make these as breadsticks I might try to bake them in a sheet and cut them apart after cooking so I can sprinkle them with mozzerella and cheddar cheese without getting it all over my cookie sheets. I will make these often!! A great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2009
i added garlic to the butter and spread the mix on before baking it. half way through i was starting to worry that this was gonna be way too much work for bread sticks but they turned out great. i cut the recipe in half, wish i hadn't done that lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
The amount of flour called for is a little off. I halved the recipe and still had to add over half a cup of flour. The end result was a soft bread stick that lacked flavor. Next time I will add some garlic powder and Italian seasoning to the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Oh my gosh, these are sooo good! This was my second attempt at making breadsticks and these were way better than the first recipe I tried! I added a heaping TB of minced garlic and about a tsp. of Italian Seasoning for additional flavor. Then I brushed the butter/parm mixture on the breadsticks before baking them, instead of using it for dipping. The texture seriously was just like olive garden. I did have to add a lot more flour because the dough was so sticky, but I made sure not to add too much (I don't bake a lot of breads, but I think not adding too much flour is the key!) I also replaced half of the all-purpose flour with bread flour. The recipe makes a lot, so I flash-froze the rest in the freezer (before the second rise). So now they just have to thaw and rise and we'll have fresh breadsticks again! UPDATE: The frozen breadsticks are not as good as the fresh ones. They didn't rise as well and something was off about the texture. So next tim I'm just going to make enough breadsticks for that meal and a few leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Murray, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
THE BEST EVER! The breadsticks turned out really soft and chewy, it was very delicious, i cant put it done even though i was already really full, in luv with it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I loved this recipe!! Very yummy!! I followed what LillyZAckMom said and they turned out sooo good! Very flavorful. I didn't serve them with the butter, I made my own marinaria dipping sauce. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallulah Falls, Georgia, USA
Living In: Hudson, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
I gave these 4 stars because the recipe isn't accurate. You need WAY more flour--about 6 cups. I also thought they were a little bland, even though I brushed them with butter and sprinkled on Parmesan cheese. But, if you shake on a little garlic salt with the Parmesan, these are perfect. The breadsticks turn out light and chewy if you don't overbake them. The dough is very easy to work with, and if you have kids old enough to make play dough snakes, they'll love to help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Malone, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cruisergirl21
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This recipe was very easy, and the breadsticks came out delicious! I halved the recipe but still used one egg. I put in a little less sugar than called for. I added italian seasoning into the dough as well as stuffed the breadsticks with pepperoni. I melted butter with garlic powder and parmesan/asiago/romano mix. I brushed the breadsticks before and after baking. The breadsticks came out so light and fluffy! They are almost gone as I am typing!! Will be making these for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruisergirl21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2008
Just got done making these and they were great! Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
These breadsticks are so yummy! I made half a recipe, though I used about a half cup more flour than the recipe called for. Instead of using the butter as a spread or dip, I melted it and mixed in garlic powder and Parmesan and brushed it on top of the breadsticks before baking them. After 14 minutes, they came out very nicely. I would recommend these to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States