Breadsticks with Parmesan Butter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I love these breadsticks, but I gave the recipe 4 stars because I had to add way more flour to make the dough dry enough to handle. I mixed them in my stand mixer and just kept adding flour until the dough pulled away from the bottom. It was probably more than a cup extra. They are fairly sweet, so you could cut the sugar down, but several people told me they liked the sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
Awesome! I made these for dinner while in Italy over the holidays, they were a hit with the manicotti. I did add some garlic and parmesean to the dough for a little more flavor. All 36 breadsticks were devoured in one night! No left overs. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mblahblah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cortland, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
A wonderful recipe! My family enjoyed these very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2011
The texture is excellent on these, but without any sort of butter/flavoring, they're pretty bland. With my second batch, I spread some Parmesan butter onto them before baking and again when they were done. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fhrngrl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
Super yummy! I make these with every pasta dish! Love the way they make the kitchen smell!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrissy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
These were great and not too much work. I halved the recipe and next time I will cut back a bit more on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenbeth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Wow!! Made just as directed. Next time I wouldn't make as much butter, but everything else was GREAT!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
When I baked these, they turned out really puffy, not like breadsticks. They were also too sweet, they tasted like a roll, not a breadstick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Made these tonight to accompany a homemade pizza. I made half the recipe, and got 18 evenly sized breadsticks by weighing the portions out to 1.5 oz each after I punched the dough down after the 1st rise. There are only 2 of us, so I only shaped 6 of them, and rolled the other ones into balls and put in the freezer on a greased cookie sheet. Once their frozen I'll store them in a freezer bag so I just have to pull out the amount we need, let them defrost, and then proceed with the shaping, 2nd rise, and baking of them. Instead of serving the parm butter as a dipping sauce, I melted the butter and mixed it with the garlic powder, then brushed this on top of the breadsticks right before baking them, and sprinkling them with the parm cheese. Next time I'll do this, but also make some to serve as a dipping sauce with them. I gave the recipe 4 stars only because next time I will use bread flour instead of AP because I felt the crumb was too soft and light. I like chewier breadsticks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Carlsbad, California, USA
Living In: Rensselaer, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Made these for the first time. Excellent! I had to add a little more flour to make it less wet, but then they turned out perfectly. Whole family loved them! Putting this in my recipe book for sure. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States