Breaded Hamburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
..This was excellent !! - Prepared everything almost like the recipe says. One of the things I did different after reading everyones reviews was - slicing the onion - too many people remarked on the water in the bottom of the pan - so - I cut the onion about an inch thick, then sliced it in half again.Then I spaced the onion in the bottom of the pan so that I could balance the hamburger on top of the onion. I used a glass dish. I also added some cheese - any kind you preferred would work ! I used a blend of mozzarella, provolone, romano, and parmesan. The other thing I did on accident - was I used deer meat. I dont do deer meat- I did that night! Cant wait to try using hamburger ! MY HUSBAND loved it ! Add some fried potato's - I have to admitt it was awesome! Thank you so much! I really enjoy reading what you guys write in about the recipes you try. Thanks! Daygoingraham
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I initially read this recipe because it sounded so odd, then decided to give it a try. I had a bag of frozen hamburger patties I'd previously made up from a big package of beef I'd bought earlier, so I was not able to put anything in the hamburger patties. Instead I sprinkled them with Montreal steak seasoning about an hour ahead of time. I then followed the recipe except I used beef broth in the dish rather than water. I also made up some gravy to serve over them which just seemed to fit with the delicious onions. I followed the advice of others and sliced the onions pretty thick to keep the patties out of the liquid, consequently I felt I had to bake them at least 45 minutes to have the onions cooked well. The onions were so good, I think next time I will fill the entire bottom of the dish with onions. The extra onions will be gobbled up. My picky eaters thought this was one of the best things they'd ever eaten. It reminded me somewhat of a country fried steak. A definite Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
This was very good. I used a large red onion and with the little water, the onion flavor simmered through very nicely! It is important to note that the burgers should not be "in" the water, they will get soggy so make sure you use a hearty onion. My husband (a beef farmer) really enjoyed this one, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FARMGIRL686

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
These really turned out great! We ate them on hamburgers buns but I think next time we'll opt to eat them solo, maybe with mashed potatoes on the side. Be careful how much water you put in the bottom of your casserole dish, once the burgers start cooking, the juices from the burgers mix with the water, and the level raises a bit. Really a great recipe, and will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I don't eat meat, but my husband said it was good. The onions soften as the cook, so they don't support the burgers up out of the water. My burgers produced more oil while cooking in the oven so there was more liquid and the burgers got soggy on the bottom. I flipped them over and placed under the broiler till they weren't soggy. I'll cook this again but next time I'll use a broiler pain to hold the burgers up away from the juices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SANDY98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gadsden, Alabama, USA
Living In: Albertville, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
Scrumptious! My family loved this tasty and easy meal to prepare. I did follow the advice of other reviewers, making sure I only used just enough water to line the bottom of the pan and not too much (covering the onions). I also sprinkled a light layer of breadcrumbs and some grated parmesan cheese over the onions before placing the meat on top to bake. This added flavor to the onions, combined with the juices from the meat after it was done. To complete the meal, I put each burger with some of the onions on a toasted hamburger bun with a side of broccoli and a side of macaroni.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Soho
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
Such a great alternative to your everyday hamburger!! We used italian seasoned bread crumbs. This was really delicious and very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RnRMama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These were good. A nice change from the plain old hamburger steak that I usually make. I did not have a problem with them coming out soggy, although I did cut my onions pretty thick so the hamburgers were not in the water. Both my 3 year old daughter and my husband loved them. I prepared them pretty much as the recipe shows, except I added about a 1/4 cup of bacon bits to the hamburger mixture. I also made up a batch of brown gravy to serve alongside the steaks. Will be making this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGIENAP
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2005
This was tasty and easy. Husband and kids enjoyed it. We did add cheese on top. Good option when you don't have buns on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Westminster, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2005
WOW!!!! For a hamburger recipe it really does merit 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

No more dry burgers with this easy recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States