Breaded Hamburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
These were good. A nice change from the plain old hamburger steak that I usually make. I did not have a problem with them coming out soggy, although I did cut my onions pretty thick so the hamburgers were not in the water. Both my 3 year old daughter and my husband loved them. I prepared them pretty much as the recipe shows, except I added about a 1/4 cup of bacon bits to the hamburger mixture. I also made up a batch of brown gravy to serve alongside the steaks. Will be making this again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butte, Montana, USA
Living In: Gresham, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
My sister and I grew up and a similar version we still call the "Hungarian Hamburger", breaded and deep fried. No need for all the fuss with putting it into the oven - just continue frying it in the pan. If you're concerned about fat and calories - use leaner beef or turkey and make sure your oil is hot enough to begin with which keeps your food from soaking up too much oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Gate, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
This is essentially mini-meatloaf without the flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
This was a great hit at dinner. Very simple. I did add more seasoning kind of winged based on others comments. I garnished with american cheese and the onion the burger sat on and fixed a size of oven rosted potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly Cotton

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I tried this and it turned out like it was supposed to and I did not like the flavor at all and ended up cooking something else. My husband did not like it either. My son on the other hand loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Argillite, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I made these tonight for dinner and we thought they were pretty bland. Unfortunately, the onions didn't impart a lot of flavour (even though we used more than called for and used chicken broth instead of water). On the plus side, the burgers were moist and the bread crumb coating with crispy...but apart from that, they were forgettable I'm afraid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2007
Very good, twist from a regular hamburger pattie. Added my own surprise taste with diced cheese (used pepper jack, my favorite) to hamburger mixture. Definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
I really liked the breading on these. I thought they tasted pretty good. My husband cleaned his plate, but said they tasted like meatloaf. The onions didn't have a lot of flavor to me, but were nice and soft. Good, easy dish for the weeknight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
I initially read this recipe because it sounded so odd, then decided to give it a try. I had a bag of frozen hamburger patties I'd previously made up from a big package of beef I'd bought earlier, so I was not able to put anything in the hamburger patties. Instead I sprinkled them with Montreal steak seasoning about an hour ahead of time. I then followed the recipe except I used beef broth in the dish rather than water. I also made up some gravy to serve over them which just seemed to fit with the delicious onions. I followed the advice of others and sliced the onions pretty thick to keep the patties out of the liquid, consequently I felt I had to bake them at least 45 minutes to have the onions cooked well. The onions were so good, I think next time I will fill the entire bottom of the dish with onions. The extra onions will be gobbled up. My picky eaters thought this was one of the best things they'd ever eaten. It reminded me somewhat of a country fried steak. A definite Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2006
Very good recipe, just wanted reiterate the fact that the burgers should be on the onions above the water. Otherwise soggy burgers are the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Cook Hamburgers

See how to make a perfectly cooked hamburger.

Mom's Legendary Stuffed Hamburgers

These big beefy burgers have a savory bacon surprise in the center.

Juiciest Hamburgers Ever

No more dry burgers with this easy recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States