Breaded, Fried, Softly Spiced Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I made this last night and it was wonderful - it made the tofo a perfect consistency - fried just enough so that the tofu wasn't too, well, "tofu-ey". Perfect blend of spices. I served it over a bed a mashed potatoes with a great mushroom sauce. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
so good! my vegan boyfriend and i both adored this recipe. we dipped the bites in tamarind chutney...mmmm. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Pretty good - added less sage b/c I'm not a big fan of the taste, but added a bit more salt. Served it with some plain yogurt mixed with a bit of cumin & cinnamon for dipping. Yum! Fried the tofu in two batches and the second batch came out much crispier due to the oil already being used. Also, used chicken broth instead of veg broth, since we already had some open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I made this for my non-tofu eating friends, and they all loved it and want the recipe. It's become one of my favorite ways to cook Tofu, and tastes lovely dipped in plain yogurt. A tip for nutritional yeast - I found it in the beauty section at Whole Foods in large cans, but apparently it's also available in the bulk section where you can buy it by weight. Enjoy - it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
My boyfriend and I had this for dinner last night. We both enjoyed it. This is one of the first time I've made tofu that was edible! I changed the spices a bit based on what was in my kitchen and dipped the things in marinara sauce. Tasty! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG9881

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Great Recipe! Try dipping them in tamarind sauce, it's really good. Tamarind sauce is usually available at east indian groceries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2006
was looking for a recipe like this! these are great snacks alone with soy sauce but i served mine on rice with veggies using some of the left over veg. broth with corn starch as a sauce :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
I am new to cooking tofu.I found this recipe easy to make and loved the flavor. I served it over asparagus and carrots. One thing though, my partner who is semi-veg said there was not enough flavor, so I might try a vegan poultry seasoning or allspice in the batter next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I never thought I'd like tofu. This recipe proved me wrong. The only change I made was to fry them in olive oil instead of vegetable oil. Good stuff. Reminded me of fried mozarella sticks, only much healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by YUKONJAMIE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Living In: East Waterboro, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This is a great recipe for tofu! Crispy and tasty on the outside and inside! I made this as a part of a thai dish and turned out great! Followed recipe to a T. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Fried Mortadella Sandwich

Raise the fried bologna sandwich to incredible new heights!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States