Breaded, Fried, Softly Spiced Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
awesome recipe! I did make a couple of changes according to what i had on hand though, but it still came out brilliantly. i'm eating while i type! i "made" the vegetable broth by crumbling a boullion cube in about a cup of water, and let the tofu sit soak while i was mixing the flour. I never measure more accurately than just eyeballing when I cook, but I used about a handful of brown flour (rather than white), and added maybe a tbsp of a curry mix spice (cumin, curry powder, garlic, mustard powder), a large pinch of chili powder, a large pinch of dill, and some fresh ground pepper. i skipped the yeast because i didn't have any (although i am a fan of that stuff). i also didn't add any salt, as boullion cubes are usually loaded with salt already. i used just enough olive oil to coat the bottom of a small frying pan and fried until crispy. yum! and it only took me about 10 minutes in all too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2008
This is a great way to make tofu more lively! I added extra cayenne ,curry and chili pepper reserving the liquid after taking the tofu out then addng corstartch and making it a sauce with mushrooms ,bean sprouts, onions and scallions in a wok then adding the tofu and serving over rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by t_jones

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Del Mar, California, USA
Living In: Lincoln, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Very good. I used 2 tablespoons of cornstarch in place of the yeast. I also added salt at the end. To make the frying easier, I used tongs to flip the pieces of tofu. It was very easy that way to brown all sides.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Killingworth, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
Great! I served them with quinoa and black beans (from this site) and sprinkled a little soy all over. We both had seconds, and wanted thirds! If you want the tofu a little more dense (than even the extra firm) cut it up, marinade in the veg broth, and stick it in the freezer for a while. You can leave it there for at least a couple weeks, and it becomes more dense. (Freeze in a single layer until frozen) This goes for any tofu recipe, especially those that go on the grill!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2006
My husband downed these tofu nuggets! I did make changes: I used some cornstarch instead of yeast; I also added some garlic powder to the flour. I didn't soak them in broth first so they kept more tofu flavor (my husband loves it). I fried them in a mix of peanut and sesame oil, and we dipped them in 2 sauces--one was a soy sauce/lemon juice mix, and the other was like marinara sauce. They were a yummy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
My first attempt at making tofu and it turned out great thanks to this recipe! Per the Mock Chicken recipe I put the tofu in the freezer until a day before I needed it when I let it thaw in the refrigerator instead of simmering it in hot water like the recipe indicated. Wrapped in a dish towel I am able to squeeze out a fair amount of liquid without having to place a heavy object on it like I have seen suggested. I did make the mistake of buying firm instead of extra firm tofu but it did not cause any problems. These turned out great crunchy and tasty on the outside with a chicken like texture on the inside. Definitely keeping this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
This was excellent! I soaked it in a vegetable broth from a soup the night before, and breaded it with half flour and half onion ring batter mix. We dipped them in a hot and sour sauce and a marinara sauce...made them taste like mozzarella sticks! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I made this last night and it was wonderful - it made the tofo a perfect consistency - fried just enough so that the tofu wasn't too, well, "tofu-ey". Perfect blend of spices. I served it over a bed a mashed potatoes with a great mushroom sauce. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2007
This is an excellent recipe. The tofu has a nice crispy outer breading with a soft, chewy center. I didn't have nutritional yeast so I substituted cornstarch as another reviewer suggested. I made this for my boyfriend and myself (I'm a vegetarian, he isn't) and we both loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I made this for my non-tofu eating friends, and they all loved it and want the recipe. It's become one of my favorite ways to cook Tofu, and tastes lovely dipped in plain yogurt. A tip for nutritional yeast - I found it in the beauty section at Whole Foods in large cans, but apparently it's also available in the bulk section where you can buy it by weight. Enjoy - it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States