Breaded, Fried, Softly Spiced Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2005
I made this last night and it was wonderful - it made the tofo a perfect consistency - fried just enough so that the tofu wasn't too, well, "tofu-ey". Perfect blend of spices. I served it over a bed a mashed potatoes with a great mushroom sauce. I highly recommend it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
Pretty good - added less sage b/c I'm not a big fan of the taste, but added a bit more salt. Served it with some plain yogurt mixed with a bit of cumin & cinnamon for dipping. Yum! Fried the tofu in two batches and the second batch came out much crispier due to the oil already being used. Also, used chicken broth instead of veg broth, since we already had some open.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2006
I made this for my non-tofu eating friends, and they all loved it and want the recipe. It's become one of my favorite ways to cook Tofu, and tastes lovely dipped in plain yogurt. A tip for nutritional yeast - I found it in the beauty section at Whole Foods in large cans, but apparently it's also available in the bulk section where you can buy it by weight. Enjoy - it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Washington, USA
Living In: Carrboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2006
My boyfriend and I had this for dinner last night. We both enjoyed it. This is one of the first time I've made tofu that was edible! I changed the spices a bit based on what was in my kitchen and dipped the things in marinara sauce. Tasty! Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEG9881

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
Great Recipe! Try dipping them in tamarind sauce, it's really good. Tamarind sauce is usually available at east indian groceries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
Good blend of spices. Next time, I think I'll use silken tofu, more salt and a little bit of peanut oil when frying to get the texture I want.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
I REALLY wanted to like this recipe b/c I'm desperate for a good, seasoned tofu dish. But this tasted like the plain old tofu I'm used to. Maybe it needs more spices or maybe I'm just not used to fried foods and didn't cook it long enough. Probably won't try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
This was pretty good, and went over well at the farm workshare I cook for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2006
so good! my vegan boyfriend and i both adored this recipe. we dipped the bites in tamarind chutney...mmmm. will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
I went a little easy on the pepper since I made this for my 1 year old as well as myself. He gobbled it up and I thought it was pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States