Breaded, Fried, Softly Spiced Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
This recipe is perfect for the veggie eater in your home. Dont be afraid to add a bit of extra cayenne pepper for the "kick". Also I added garlic bread crumbs and they were mmmmgood!!! serve with your favorite dipping sauce and have a party. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
I made these and served with pasta sauce. My kids thought they were o.k. Next time I will make them thinner so that every bite is crispy. I did not freeze the tofu and thaw, I will try that next time because the insides were gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
Absolutely delicious. I eat them with ketchup and they taste just like chicken nuggets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
I've never prepared tofu before, and I found this recipe to be a very easy and fun way to serve tofu. I upped the sage and cayenne a little and added a little dried basil to the breading and left out the yeast as I had none. We dipped these in honey mustard for a great lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: River Falls, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Wow, I get to be the 100th rater! I thought this was pretty darn good! Dipped in marniara. Didn't have vege stock so I used chicken broth. (I guess the stock is for the vegetarians among us!) Also used corn starch as others did for lack of "nutritional yeast" what ever that is. I added some garlic powder because well... garlic is good in anything! I omitted the salt as well because the broth was already salty. Will make again with a different name than "Tofu Sticks" for my man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Handful

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ada, Ohio, USA
Photo by Misha
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Finally got 'em right after the 3rd time making these! :) A couple tips: Soak tofu in chicken broth overnight for max flavor. Before rolling in flour, dont wring out the broth from the tofu, so its able to soak the batter and make it stick. I alternated between a bowl of seasoned flour, and a bowl of crushed, seasoned croutons & crackers. It made the "nuggets" crunchier. (Press tofu in flour 1st, then the croutons, then the flour again) Fried in olive oil, and it turned out GREAT as you can see, and tasted great also!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
Quick and easy! The vegetable broth gave extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenbridges
Home Town: Buford, Georgia, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2009
It is gorgeous, I spiced up the flour mixture like others suggested and I fried it in a shallow mix of vegetable oil and spicy sesame oil. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaymanClair

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I absolutely loved this!I plan to make this all the time and just keep trying it with different dishes and sauces.It's a great snack by itself and very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2009
This was very tasty, and better than fried tofu I've tried making in the past! We ate it with quinoa and some steamed veggies. My only complaint was that the breading tasted a bit flour-y. The spices were delicious, though. I'm interested in the suggestion of adding ground nuts/seeds to the breading. I think I will try that next time I make this - because I do plan on making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kumquatgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States