Breaded, Fried, Softly Spiced Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I made a change to this. The coating on the tofu will come out crispy every time if you add ground sunflower seeds and almonds (or other nuts) to your flour. Simply grind up some sunflower seeds and nuts in a blender and add to the flour. From the seeds and nuts, you will get plenty of omega-3 fatty acids, which makes this recipe even healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
Such a great recipe! I'm transitioning into eating more vegetarian meals and I loved this. My previous experiences with tofu were a little disappointing but this turned out great. I served it with the "Garlic Feta Dip" I found on here as well and it was excellent together. However, I breaded the tofu ahead and cooked it later so the dough was very sticky and I lost a little bit of it. So next time I will bread and fry it right away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
This is my favorite recipe yet from allrecipes.com! It was totally awesome. Like some others, I substituted cornstarch for the yeast. I highly recommend to others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Excellent recipe; quick and easy. I have made these several times now, they are a staple in my home. I strongly suggest doubling the spices; otherwise, the flavor is bland. Once I doubled them, these came out tasting like chicken strips. Everyone I serve them to loves them; and,they go well in dipping sauces!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Unfortunately nobody like this much. But we are not used to tofu... I am trying to find some ways to get my family to eat less meat. I ended up using the coating I had left for chicken since nobody would eat the tofu. It was great on chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Did not like these. Tofu was too mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eagle, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I tried this recipe first just pressing the tofu and the 2nd time after freezing the tofu. Freezing it made it sooo much better. Also cutting the strips thinner makes it crispier. To freeze I drained the tofu, put it in a freezer bag, and thawed in the fridge. Then followed the recipe. YUMMY! My husband and four year old loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LivinOurLuvSong

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe! I've been a vegetarian for 3 years and have never cooked tofu myself, thinking it would be too difficult and also my boyfriend isnt fond of it. This recipe solved both avoided both problems for me. My boyfriend loved these tofu sticks and the were so simple to make. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Delish! I made it mexican-style by serving with black beans and rice and salsa. A total hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Displaying results 81-90 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States