Breaded, Fried, Softly Spiced Tofu Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This is great. To be honest, soaking the tofu in broth doesn't impart much flavor. So now when I make this, I heavily season a saucepan of broth (garlic, onion, soy sauce, ginger, pepper, etc.) and boil slices of tofu in that for 30 minutes, then remove and press dry. I followed the rest of the recipe precisely and it was delicious. I am not sure how people could omit the nutritional yeast -- it gives so much flavor to the breading that corn starch absolutely lacks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
It was alright... the breading needed ALOT more seasoning. I think the seasoning would have helped a tremendous more. Its a good concept though, just needed more or different seasoning. Thank you for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nskyline115

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2012
My husband made this for me tonight & it was delicious and he said it was easy to make. We think the same batter/mix would be great on chicken also. Next time we thought we might bake it and not fry, but it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
This breading didn't work well for me and I've used better tofu recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Great flavor, but I like the panko style better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I've been searching for a tofu recipe that my husband will eat...this is it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
i used sesame seeds instead of yeast. i think this would be excellent served with a dip of yogurt, cumin, black pepper and a dash of salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Con C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Norway, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
This is simple and delicious. The best way that I've tried to cook tofu. I want to try marinating the tofu and then breading and frying for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
my vegetarian daughter LOVES this. The nutritional yeast is what makes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gracietwin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Delicious in a deep-fryer! I dipped them in sweet-chili sauce. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Killer Carrot
Living In: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States