Breaded Brussels Sprouts Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2004
I usually don't consider brussel sprouts my favorite vegetable because they have a bitter flavor and after-taste. However, I decided to give this receipe a try due to the previous reviews. I have to admit, it really dresses up the sprouts and improves the flavor! The crumb topping is really yummy and masks the bitter taste. Great recipe and even my picky husband liked it! If you have kids, this is a great way to get them to eat veggies that they normally don't like. As for the the previous reviewer CHADERINKAIA who said, "would not reccomend, unless you are absolutely a brussel sprout fan" ... I think that's a given. No matter how much you dress up a food, it's still going to have some of its original flavor. If you hate brussel sprouts, don't make this dish because it'll still taste like brussel sprouts! Duh! It doesn't matter how much merlot wine sauce you put on dog food, it will still taste like dog food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2001
Excellent! I could live on this, but then again I love veggies! I substituted 1/2 pound baby carrots for 1/2 pound of the sprouts and made it colorful. The kids ate the carrots. Boil the baby carrots about a minutes less than the sprouts. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2003
These were sooo yummy!! I added a few splashes of soy sauce to mine. I guess I felt like being creative and boy am I glad I did, because it made them taste delicious. My husband and I enjoy brussels sprouts and this is definitely a recipe I'll use again and again. Thanks William for this recipe and for all of the others you have submitted to this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
I followed another reviewers suggestion and used half brussels sprouts, half baby carrots. The topping was really good and did not over power the flavor of the veggies. I ommited half the butter by not tossing it with the veggies before topping. I bet this topping would be good on many other veggies, especially broccoli and cauliflower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
YUM, YUM!!!! My whole family loves brussel sprouts and it was so nice to find a different way of preparing them. These were excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
Awesome recipe! I never thought I'd love brussels sprouts! Now I do. I made them twice. The first time I followed the recipe exactly. The second time, I cut the brussels sprouts before tossing them in the butter & adding the bread crumb mixture. This way they absorbed more of the butter & yummy bread crumb flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XtinaU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2003
I made this for Christmas dinner. My husband loved it. Mee too. The kids even ate it without complaining, like usual with plain sprouts. I haved the recipie and added an extra cup of baby carrots. I didn't use the butter to stir in with the veggies. Just for the topping. Turned out great. Will make this again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
These were so quick and easy! They tasted fabulous too! This is now my new favorite way to eat brussel sprouts and I will be making them often. I used seasoned bread crumbs and left out the seasoning salt because I didn't have any but they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
Absolutely loved this recipe and have already made it twice. So easy to make and so tasty too! Also, really appreciated the tip about the "x" on the stems--had never heard of this but it did work. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
My family LOVES this!!! Its now become one of the Holiday Favorits!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States