Bread and Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
For my first Thanksgiving I wanted to woo everyone. This stuffing was the HIT. I used 1 box seasoned bread mix and 1/2 lb of dried white french bread and mixed in some leftover wild rice and just 1/2 teaspoon of poultry seasoning and followed rest of directions. I didn't put it in the bird but rather on the side in a 9x18 pan and baked, it was crispy and soft at the same time. Kudo's to the author on this one and Thanks for the great receipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2002
Great recipe!! I now make better stuffing than my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
My first attempt at making dressing "from scratch". What was I worried about? This was so easy! The kids loved helping me cut up the bread, which I did first. Then we sprinkled a little onion and garlic powder on the cubes and toasted them in the oven. I will add a little more broth next time but... I think that really all depends on if you like your dressing more on the moist or dry side. I was quite proud of my first attempt! Thanks! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HAMMHOCKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
Excellent and so easy. Made two chickens on the bbq, and made this in the oven. Everyone loved it, thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walkerton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
My husband said this was the best stuffing he's ever had! The only thing I did differently was I used 1/2 loaf of wheat bread and 1/2 loaf of white bread. The color variation was very pretty in the outcome. The only thing I regret is not making more! It's the only thing we don't have as leftovers after our Thanksgiving dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHMARGI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
Everyone loved this stuffing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
JUST LIKE MY MOM USED TO MAKE!!! HAVE NOT BEEN ABLE TO DUPLICATE HER RECIPE UNTIL NOW.THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2002
Delicious! I made this to go with lemon chicken, and it was the best stuffing I've ever had. I used 1 tsp. poultry seasoning and 1 tsp. Essence to kick it up a notch. I also baked it in a casserole as suggested, and it turned out perfect! Definately a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2002
i was going to post a recipe just like this, but you beat me to the punch. it is so delicious and so good as leftovers. this is sheer turkey JOY yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2002
This stuffing recipe was a hit at our last Thanksgiving dinner. My husband was skeptical (his mom's recipe is "the best" he says) but now he wants me to make this every year!! Toasting the bread kept it from getting soggy and gummy like most recipes taste. This is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marilla, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States