Bread and Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I finally settled on this stuffing recipe...it was SO hard to choose! I didn't want to "over do" the flavors and so many others seemed to have too much going on. I made it as stated and then it was so easy that I got brave. I ended up adding one chopped up Granny Smith apple (next time I'll add two), pecans (lots) and a pound of the Jimmy Dean sage sausage. I used four baguette loaves of french bread, I used baguettes because I like the flavor that the crust provides and then I also threw in about half a loaf of homemade 1/2 whole wheat bread (although I didn't even notice it in the final product). This was beyond delicious! My husband who is a Stovetop worshiper (we've only been married 3 months...don't worry, I'll convert him!) and he said that it was truly the best stuffing ever. He said that the "extras" weren't extra at all and that they made the dish. Here I was thinking that I would shock his simple bacheloresque taste buds and he actually liked all of the flavors. Hooray! Thanks for the base recipe, it's a great kick off to add extras that you know that your family likes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Tried this for Thanksgiving 2012 (made with French bread)--- it was awesome! Thanks for a "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I used bagged bread cubes and doubled the recipe. Good thing I did because it was a huge hit. I was able to stuff the turkey full and still have a 9 x 11 dish. Will make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for! It was the perfect stuffing for our Thanksgiving dinner. The only complaint was that my guests ate so much of it, I don't have as much leftover ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This got the BEST reviews on Thanksgiving by my company! My father in law (who won't touch stuffing) went back for seconds after I urged him to just "try" this dish!!! This recipe is a keeper and will forever be a staple at my table from now on!!!! I did add 2 granny smith apples to the onion and celery mix and fried up jimmy Dean's breakfast sausage and added that as well. I could not ask for a better recipe! Many many thanks for this one Carlota!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Don't need to try it. My daddy made this every Thanksgiving with the addition of sage and the beaten eggs. And a little more poultry seasoning, I think. The best was that what didn't fit in the turkey - triple the recipe! - got made into patties, each patty topped with a pecan, and baked in the oven. Turkey and dressing and green bean casserole and sweet potato pie and even chocolate pie ended up as leftovers, but never the patties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I will NEVER EVER buy boxed stuffing again!! This stuffing was soo good and so easy to cook, everyone LOVED IT! I followed the recipe to a t and wouldn't change anything about it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This IS the best stuffing I've ever made. I added minced garlic and carrots into mine. I also used half french bread and half 9 grain Italian bread. I'll defiantly make this one my go to stuffing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nom^_^nom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have used this recipe for 34 years.However when the children were small they didn't like the celery or onions. So one year i took my cuisinart and blended them in an almost liquid. It was amazing--- same taste and texture minus the celery and onions pieces. Tess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 663) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States