Bread and Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
This is a tried and true recipe. I save all the ends from sandwich loaves for this purpose. If you dry the bread in the oven at a low temp, it accelerates drying and prevents sogging. I make my own stock with the poultry neck and giblets and the veggies in a rough cut. I separate the veggies from the stock and finely chop them. I also add chopped walnuts and finely chopped apples for an added twist. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne Appel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
I've been using this recipe for the past year or so, but I had to make some changes, because on it's own it's only okay. I usually add 1-2 eggs, depending how much bread I use. I toast half of my bread cubes for some texture. I like to add extra seasonings to the poultry seasoning, sometimes rosemary, sometimes parsley, and sometimes thyme, and then sometimes all of them. This recipe is a good starting point, but I do think you need to expand upon it to make it a "wow" stuffing/dressing. I would recommend adding the broth/stock a little at a time to your liking. I like mine moist, but with eggs I never use a full 1 cup of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chobette

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jamestown, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
OMG.....exactly how MOM makes it. And the soggier the better.......haaa.....gotta be STUFFED in the bird!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Boyd

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
This stuffing is great! I needed it fast so I cubed my bread and toasted it in 225 oven until completely crunchy. The flavor and texture was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
This is exactly how my Mum and Granny use to make their stuffing. I could always do without turkey, potatoes, etc at Christmas but give me a plate of stuffing and I am very happy. As I now live in the tropics, celery is not always available ( imported ) so when I am able to buy it, I chop and freeze. If I do not have enough celery, I substitute a local veg, christophene, which does the trick. This is a wonderful recipe and I would not change a thing. Thank you Carlota for bringing back memories and saving me money now that I no longer buy Stove Top stuffing ( that too is imported and VERY VERY expensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
We made this for Christmas dinner. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
The only thing I did differently was added two eggs after I added the bread cubes. Otherwise this recipe is perfect! It turned out amazing, my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Love this stuffing!! So easy to make. Let the slow cooker do the work or put it in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LarissaSmith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Smithville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Very good recipe. I did modify it a bit by buying stuffing cubes (both cornbread and regular), but used the basic overall recipe mix. Since I've been struggling with stuffing for a few years - everything just turned out wrong with it - I'm very happy to now have a reliable, good stuffing recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Limestone, New York, USA
Living In: Allegany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I increased this recipe and made it for 35 people. This was very easy to make (except for the chopping) and I got lots of compliments. I added some chopped walnuts and dried cranberries for a little texture and sweetness, it was perfect. I'll be making this one again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 666) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States