Bread and Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I followed the recipe almost exactly, and it turned out perefect! I dried my bread overnight, however, and sliced it into cubes the next morning, and let them air dry until I started the recipe in the afternoon. I think that made the difference as far as being too moist. I look forward to experimenting with this recipe in the future. Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jungledrums

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bentonville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Muscatine, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
One word - SOURDOUGH! I used sourdough bread and this stuffing was AMAZING!! Yum! I also used unsalted butter and added the salt by hand. I grew up on nasty Stovetop stuffing, so I've never liked stuffing. Once I made this, I am a full fledged believer!! It's now my favorite part of Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrsdoos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Usually we stuff the turkey, but this year we tried it separate and the stuffing/dressing turned out fantastic!! I needed to add more butter and stock next time (I used more bread) as it didn't stick together. But still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
It doesn't sound like much, but it's super yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I followed recipe nearly exactly. I was so glad I didnt have to use eggs as my son is severely allergic! I wanted a little more color so instead of using 4 stalks celery, I used 3 and then I used about a half of a red pepper. Nobody could believe I made it ! (I couldnt either !) I WILL NEVER buy boxed stuffing again. This is sooooo easy and quick to make. You could add whatever spices you like. I added just a little bit of thyme & sage. Oh and I had leftover whole wheat bread and spelt bread which I make in my bread machine so I used a mix of it. It didnt get soggy, which I was worried it would especially reading some reviews ! Awsome and perfect ! THANKS SO MUCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Delicious and easy. Should have Mae more for my Thanksgiving dinner. It was the first thing gone. I did double the liquid using chicken Better Than Bouillon, instead of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This was so tasty! We needed a vegetarian option for my brother at Thanksgiving and this worked out great! We subbed the chicken broth for vegetable broth and cut up big chunks of 'TX toast.' I put it in a casserole dish and baked in the oven rather than the turkey. Tasted even better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is basically the same recipe my mom always made when I was growing up. I love it because it is classic stuffing - none of the fancy stuff involving oysters or sausage or whatever. Basic and classic. Wonderful. I made this recipe (for the first time ever) this Thanksgiving and it was delicious and perfect - it will be my go-to stuffing recipe from now on. It was easy to make and cooked up beautifully. I did a double batch, put half in my turkey, and baked the other half in a casserole dish in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megallyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I finally settled on this stuffing recipe...it was SO hard to choose! I didn't want to "over do" the flavors and so many others seemed to have too much going on. I made it as stated and then it was so easy that I got brave. I ended up adding one chopped up Granny Smith apple (next time I'll add two), pecans (lots) and a pound of the Jimmy Dean sage sausage. I used four baguette loaves of french bread, I used baguettes because I like the flavor that the crust provides and then I also threw in about half a loaf of homemade 1/2 whole wheat bread (although I didn't even notice it in the final product). This was beyond delicious! My husband who is a Stovetop worshiper (we've only been married 3 months...don't worry, I'll convert him!) and he said that it was truly the best stuffing ever. He said that the "extras" weren't extra at all and that they made the dish. Here I was thinking that I would shock his simple bacheloresque taste buds and he actually liked all of the flavors. Hooray! Thanks for the base recipe, it's a great kick off to add extras that you know that your family likes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Tried this for Thanksgiving 2012 (made with French bread)--- it was awesome! Thanks for a "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 691) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States