Bread and Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Tried this for Thanksgiving 2012 (made with French bread)--- it was awesome! Thanks for a "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I used bagged bread cubes and doubled the recipe. Good thing I did because it was a huge hit. I was able to stuff the turkey full and still have a 9 x 11 dish. Will make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Exactly what I was looking for! It was the perfect stuffing for our Thanksgiving dinner. The only complaint was that my guests ate so much of it, I don't have as much leftover ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by micsulli

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2012
This got the BEST reviews on Thanksgiving by my company! My father in law (who won't touch stuffing) went back for seconds after I urged him to just "try" this dish!!! This recipe is a keeper and will forever be a staple at my table from now on!!!! I did add 2 granny smith apples to the onion and celery mix and fried up jimmy Dean's breakfast sausage and added that as well. I could not ask for a better recipe! Many many thanks for this one Carlota!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Don't need to try it. My daddy made this every Thanksgiving with the addition of sage and the beaten eggs. And a little more poultry seasoning, I think. The best was that what didn't fit in the turkey - triple the recipe! - got made into patties, each patty topped with a pecan, and baked in the oven. Turkey and dressing and green bean casserole and sweet potato pie and even chocolate pie ended up as leftovers, but never the patties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I will NEVER EVER buy boxed stuffing again!! This stuffing was soo good and so easy to cook, everyone LOVED IT! I followed the recipe to a t and wouldn't change anything about it! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Newcastle, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This IS the best stuffing I've ever made. I added minced garlic and carrots into mine. I also used half french bread and half 9 grain Italian bread. I'll defiantly make this one my go to stuffing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nom^_^nom

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
I have used this recipe for 34 years.However when the children were small they didn't like the celery or onions. So one year i took my cuisinart and blended them in an almost liquid. It was amazing--- same taste and texture minus the celery and onions pieces. Tess
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Okay, this is a great recipe. I tweaked it a bit, and I'll tell you why: I like a really moist stuffing. As it is, this would be great for going into a bird because it would soak up additional juices. For just baking, though, I recommend adding a bit more moisture. I kept NEARLY everything the same, but I'm a Pennsylvania girl, and we make our stuffing with saffron. I used all wheat bread (a day-old loaf from the grocery store bakery) and I substituted the cup of chicken broth in this recipe with a cup of water that had been simmered with saffron strands on the stovetop. (Both the saffron threads and the water went in). I did use chicken broth but only enough to bring the mixture together. I spread it in the bottom of my buttered casserole dish and topped it with slices of butter. It will be absolutely DIVINE when I bake it for Thanksgiving on Thursday. Great recipe, Carlota.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilkaisha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 662) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

How to Make Stuffing

See the five elements to stuffing—and enjoy it with or without a bird.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States