Bread and Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
Usually we stuff the turkey, but this year we tried it separate and the stuffing/dressing turned out fantastic!! I needed to add more butter and stock next time (I used more bread) as it didn't stick together. But still fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
It doesn't sound like much, but it's super yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I followed recipe nearly exactly. I was so glad I didnt have to use eggs as my son is severely allergic! I wanted a little more color so instead of using 4 stalks celery, I used 3 and then I used about a half of a red pepper. Nobody could believe I made it ! (I couldnt either !) I WILL NEVER buy boxed stuffing again. This is sooooo easy and quick to make. You could add whatever spices you like. I added just a little bit of thyme & sage. Oh and I had leftover whole wheat bread and spelt bread which I make in my bread machine so I used a mix of it. It didnt get soggy, which I was worried it would especially reading some reviews ! Awsome and perfect ! THANKS SO MUCH.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Delicious and easy. Should have Mae more for my Thanksgiving dinner. It was the first thing gone. I did double the liquid using chicken Better Than Bouillon, instead of broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
This was so tasty! We needed a vegetarian option for my brother at Thanksgiving and this worked out great! We subbed the chicken broth for vegetable broth and cut up big chunks of 'TX toast.' I put it in a casserole dish and baked in the oven rather than the turkey. Tasted even better as leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
This is basically the same recipe my mom always made when I was growing up. I love it because it is classic stuffing - none of the fancy stuff involving oysters or sausage or whatever. Basic and classic. Wonderful. I made this recipe (for the first time ever) this Thanksgiving and it was delicious and perfect - it will be my go-to stuffing recipe from now on. It was easy to make and cooked up beautifully. I did a double batch, put half in my turkey, and baked the other half in a casserole dish in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by megallyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Everson, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
I finally settled on this stuffing recipe...it was SO hard to choose! I didn't want to "over do" the flavors and so many others seemed to have too much going on. I made it as stated and then it was so easy that I got brave. I ended up adding one chopped up Granny Smith apple (next time I'll add two), pecans (lots) and a pound of the Jimmy Dean sage sausage. I used four baguette loaves of french bread, I used baguettes because I like the flavor that the crust provides and then I also threw in about half a loaf of homemade 1/2 whole wheat bread (although I didn't even notice it in the final product). This was beyond delicious! My husband who is a Stovetop worshiper (we've only been married 3 months...don't worry, I'll convert him!) and he said that it was truly the best stuffing ever. He said that the "extras" weren't extra at all and that they made the dish. Here I was thinking that I would shock his simple bacheloresque taste buds and he actually liked all of the flavors. Hooray! Thanks for the base recipe, it's a great kick off to add extras that you know that your family likes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Tried this for Thanksgiving 2012 (made with French bread)--- it was awesome! Thanks for a "keeper" recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I used bagged bread cubes and doubled the recipe. Good thing I did because it was a huge hit. I was able to stuff the turkey full and still have a 9 x 11 dish. Will make again next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Medina, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 689) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States