Bread and Celery Stuffing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is a good "basic" stuffing recipe, but like many recipes I made my own little tweaks to it. I cooked the neck & gizzards for about 45 min, in lightly salted water with a teaspoon of poultry seasoning and 1/2 teaspoon of chicken bouillon. I then used that as the broth and took the meat from the neck and chopped it & the gizzards finely to add to the stuffing. I also added a diced apple and 1 large egg beaten. I cooked half in the bird and the other half in a casserole and it turned out great. I've made a lot of stuffing recipes over the years, but this way is by far the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by OkinawanPrincess
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Easy to prepare with flavorful results! I prepared the ingredients as written only I used all butter, adding chopped turkey giblets and liver and cooked this on the stove top. I used Love’s fresh bread, cubed, and low-sodium Swanson chicken broth to moisten the cubed bread. This needed just a little more Hawaiian sea salt and fresh ground black pepper, other than that, this was a moist, flavorful, fluffy and perfectly seasoned stuffing. I loved the fresh chopped celery. This was enough for the two of us including leftovers for tomorrow. I served this with, “Easy Herb Roasted Turkey,” and “Sweet Potato Casserole II,” also from this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
i make less than a full recipe (it's only my husband and i with my mother in law on occasion).. ***one tip i do for cutting up the the bread - makes it dry faster and more even - cut it into cubes while it is frozen (doing about 3-5 slices at a time). you get wonderful cubes, and no mess. my oven has a "drying" feature too - 140 degrees and keep checking it.. i also mince sliced mushrooms in it.. definitely a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Perfect basic celery and onion stuffing. Yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
easy enough to prepare and cook, anyone could have great stuffing/filling/dressing whichever you call it. We Loved it with our smoked Turkey and mashed Potatoes on Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Craig Renz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York Haven, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is like the one my Mom made, similar to my microwave dressing. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lenexa, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is so easy and good. I've never been able to make stuffing properly until now. It is just like the one my Grandma makes. I followed the recipe exactly and am more than pleased with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I sometimes add minced oysers to this traditional recipe and my turkey stuffing gets raves!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Joy, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
We love this recipe. It is so easy to make and tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
This is a great base recipe that I use all the time with slight modification. Instead of poultry seasoning, I use Bell's. It is a blend of Rosemary, oregano, sage, ginger, margoram, thyme and pepper. I also use milk instead of chicken broth. If you cook the stuffing in the bird, there is no need. Excellent and making it right now as we speak!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Portland, Maine, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 677) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Bread and Celery Stuffing

See how to make a classic stuffing recipe for the Thanksgiving turkey.

Pecan Apricot Stuffing

See how to make this delicious all-purpose stuffing or dressing.

Grandma’s Corn Bread Dressing

See how to make a corn bread dressing flavored with a touch of sage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States