Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
I never rate or review anything so this must be a great recipe. I've been canning pickles for over 30 years and wanted a new recipe, I tried this one and if you are a beginner or a pro and you want a great recipe then you should try this one! I made 30 pints in July 2009 and gave them as gifts, as well as ate them, they were a hit. They were too salty after much rinsing so I cut back the salt to about half after the first batch. I started making double the recipe. I mixed them in a large cooler to have enough room to blend everything real well. I added 2 red and 2 orange peppers to the recipe to give it color and just chopped it instead of diced because the peppers are just as good to eat. I put ice on the top while the mix stands so the cukes and peppers get crisp. The cooler helps keep the ice from melting too fast. I packed the pint jars with the cukes then ladled in the brine, this works fine. I put them in a 10 minute 'bath' since I made so many and wanted them to last. I opened the last jar a few weeks ago and it is just as fresh as when I made them last year. I just finished making 45 pints today. They're ready to eat right away. Fantastic pickles! Thank you, David. Another pickle tidbit: when storing pickles, turn them upside down, so that the top pickles are soaking in the brine, since the pickles will rise. Then as you eat them the bottom soaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
554 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
The salt draws water from the veggies, thus they need to be drained. By removing some of the liquid from them, they turn out crisper as pickles. I do, however, like to mix a quart of cracked ice into the mixture, to keep it cold. It melts, and everything is well drained at the end of 3 hours. My family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
353 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2003
The combination of spices make a great tasting pickle but when it says use a large bowl they should have said a tub...I used three large bowls and then poured it all into a tub to mix the cukes with the salt. I also covered the salted cukes with ice and a loose cover (I think the ice gives the pickles a little more crispness)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
251 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2007
Very good pickles. I would definitely rinse the cucumbers well after sitting in the salt, as they were awfully salty. I also processed them for 10 minutes in a hot water canner so I could keep them in the pantry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
201 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LITTLETURTLE30

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
I love these pickles! I soaked my cukes for 7 hours in ice water before cutting them and mixing them with the salt, garlic, and bell pepper. I didn't let them sit as long as suggested. I only let them sit for 45 minutes, drained the liquid and mixed into the brine. They still came out very well. Very crisp, delicious pickles. The best I've tasted. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
125 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2005
Best ever even better than mine. Nice addition with the garlic and cloves. I think the recipe should read 25 pickling cukes. Some folks who never made pickles before used regular cukes which were to big and made them come out soggy. Thanks David for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milford, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
These are pretty good. One thing I would change is after draining the brine, rinse the vegetable mix and drain again. It was a bit too salty. If I make them again I will definitely do this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
95 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: White Salmon, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
These were a great success! Loved them. I steralized my mason pint jars in a hot dishwasher first and they all sealed so they do not need to store in the fridge. Made 9 pints. I think I'll make another batch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Landmark, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I made these today for my mother-in-law. I don't really care for bread and butter pickles but after trying these I can say I would actually eat these ones. They stayed crisp even after boiling and processing. I had soaked them in ice water over night. I also didn't have any celery seed or enough mustard seed and they still turned out well. I had my neighbor try them since I wasn't sure what they should taste like and she said they were very good. Thanks for sharing this recipe. I will definately make lots more of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Howard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2001
This is a good pickle recipe. Pretty easy to make and in a few hours you are crunching warm pickles. It makes a ton though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 169) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States