Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
All I can say is everyone is right, these are awesome pickles. My husband said they are better than store bought. I did make a small change. The recipe called for 6 onions, I used four because 6 seemed like alot once I started to cut everything. Next time I make them I will use only 3 onions. I just want more pickels than onions even though it's all good. The recipe made 10 pints and I will be making more very soon, since we are going through them so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Love this recipe...It was a big hit with my family and friends, who all couldn't believe I hadn't bought them in a store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
My whole family loves this recipe!!!!! I added multiple colors of peppers to add some color to the recipe and it was wonderful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
These are wonderful! I followed the recipe but did soak in ice in cooler as suggested, rinsed well, and also added jalepenos. Very crunchy and delicious. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURCL
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
used less sugar and salt but this was very good and very similar to a recipe I have from an old cookbook on preserving. I'm making them again and that says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURCL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious and wonderfu! I love that they are ready to eat immediately! I didn't use green pepper, just the cucumbers and onions. My parents came over and saw the jars on the counter (I processed them for canning) and my dad had to try them. He couldn't stop eating them and scooped them into a bowl since he loved them so much! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These bread and butter pickles are outstanding!! I halved the recipe and used only 2 cups of sugar instead of 2.5. Used ground cloves instead of whole and I also omitted the peppers. I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is what I used to make but lost the recipes. I followed Vanessa's suggestions from July, 2010. I used 3 cups sugar, I used ice, and I did not have celery seed,. I used exactly 5 lbs. kriby cukes. I put them in a boiling weater bath since I am the only one eatiing except for an gift or two. I tried them warm also and they are perfect. Just the taste I was looking. I have some juice left over I think I will re soak the ones I made last week. These are really wonderful. Thank you Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe. It's easy and the pickles are delicious - - just the recipe I've been looking for. I used half of the cukes, onion, and salt (but my cukes and onions were rather large) to a full batch of brine. Instead of green pepper, I used four jalapenos that I sliced very thinly on a mandoline (seeds and all). They added a nice zip. Also, I used a whole head of garlic and sliced it, too, on the mandoline instead of chopping. I did not put the jalapenos and garlic in the salt mixture. Instead, I added them to the boiling brine when I added the cukes and onions. This yielded 7 quart jars. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made some minor changes and put my jars in a "bain-marie" or covered water bath for 10 minutes in very hot water to process for non refrigeration. The changes in the recipe were only 3 onions, not 6, no green peppers and 1/4 cup salt. Wonderful and crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayNell Palmisano
Home Town: Grand Bay, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States