Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Jam21
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Just made these and they turned out awesome!! I made one batch and canned it, the next morning I was really curious how they turned out so I opened up a jar and they were super crunchy and perfectly seasoned SO I made 2 more batches. Easly the best bread and butter pickles I have ever had! Will make these every year! Thanks for sharing. Your wonderful recipe. p.s. I canned them according to the ball blue book directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jam21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Oregon, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
All I can say is everyone is right, these are awesome pickles. My husband said they are better than store bought. I did make a small change. The recipe called for 6 onions, I used four because 6 seemed like alot once I started to cut everything. Next time I make them I will use only 3 onions. I just want more pickels than onions even though it's all good. The recipe made 10 pints and I will be making more very soon, since we are going through them so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Love this recipe...It was a big hit with my family and friends, who all couldn't believe I hadn't bought them in a store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
My whole family loves this recipe!!!!! I added multiple colors of peppers to add some color to the recipe and it was wonderful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
These are wonderful! I followed the recipe but did soak in ice in cooler as suggested, rinsed well, and also added jalepenos. Very crunchy and delicious. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LAURCL
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
used less sugar and salt but this was very good and very similar to a recipe I have from an old cookbook on preserving. I'm making them again and that says a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURCL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Schenectady, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
Delicious and wonderfu! I love that they are ready to eat immediately! I didn't use green pepper, just the cucumbers and onions. My parents came over and saw the jars on the counter (I processed them for canning) and my dad had to try them. He couldn't stop eating them and scooped them into a bowl since he loved them so much! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These bread and butter pickles are outstanding!! I halved the recipe and used only 2 cups of sugar instead of 2.5. Used ground cloves instead of whole and I also omitted the peppers. I'll definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This is what I used to make but lost the recipes. I followed Vanessa's suggestions from July, 2010. I used 3 cups sugar, I used ice, and I did not have celery seed,. I used exactly 5 lbs. kriby cukes. I put them in a boiling weater bath since I am the only one eatiing except for an gift or two. I tried them warm also and they are perfect. Just the taste I was looking. I have some juice left over I think I will re soak the ones I made last week. These are really wonderful. Thank you Dave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
This is a great recipe. It's easy and the pickles are delicious - - just the recipe I've been looking for. I used half of the cukes, onion, and salt (but my cukes and onions were rather large) to a full batch of brine. Instead of green pepper, I used four jalapenos that I sliced very thinly on a mandoline (seeds and all). They added a nice zip. Also, I used a whole head of garlic and sliced it, too, on the mandoline instead of chopping. I did not put the jalapenos and garlic in the salt mixture. Instead, I added them to the boiling brine when I added the cukes and onions. This yielded 7 quart jars. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Butler, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States