Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This recipe was so easy. The reviews prior to starting were very helpful, especially in regard to rinsing the cukes and adding ice. We tried the first pickles tonight and they were amazing! They were crunchy, and extremely yum! I highly recommend this recipe, even to the novice "pickler".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
These are awesome! We eat them as a snack they're so good. I scaled down the recipe a bit, but it works just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Best ever! I did add 1/4 cup salt and less sugar. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
First time I've ever made pickles, and they turned out great! The store was sold out of mustard seeds, so I made it without those, but it was still great, and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I must admit I thought I would go searching for another bread n butter recipe if this wasn't what I was looking for -- but you know what? THIS IS EXACTLY THE RECIPE I WAS LOOKING FOR! The cukes are still crisp, and oh my gosh, do they have a wonderful taste when chilled? I must recommend this. I used the raw/cold pack method once I brined my slices, and then simply put the boiling sauce over the pickles, and water-bathed them. These are sooooooo good! It is a def a recommend! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latenitetacos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
My Dad used to make awesome bread and butter pickles, using a recipe from an early 1960's "Better Homes and Gardens" cookbook. I have looked online in vain for that recipe, but this one is very, very close. I made 1/2 a batch, and I still wound up with 3 quarts and 6 pints of incredibly delicious pickles. (They were big cucumbers) There was one snag; because I made 1/2 a batch, I used 1/2 the amounts called for in the pickling brine. When I dumped my huge bowl of veggies into the pickling liquid, it was obvious I needed more liquid. So, quick like a bunny, I removed the veggies and (inadequate) liquid from the burner, and whipped up a 1/4 recipe of more pickle liquid and added it to the already huge pot of veggies and liquid and continued with the recipe. Perfect amount. I did process my pickles in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes, so I could enjoy them longer. They are The Bomb. So worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jam21
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
Just made these and they turned out awesome!! I made one batch and canned it, the next morning I was really curious how they turned out so I opened up a jar and they were super crunchy and perfectly seasoned SO I made 2 more batches. Easly the best bread and butter pickles I have ever had! Will make these every year! Thanks for sharing. Your wonderful recipe. p.s. I canned them according to the ball blue book directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jam21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakeview, Oregon, USA
Living In: Birch Bay, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
All I can say is everyone is right, these are awesome pickles. My husband said they are better than store bought. I did make a small change. The recipe called for 6 onions, I used four because 6 seemed like alot once I started to cut everything. Next time I make them I will use only 3 onions. I just want more pickels than onions even though it's all good. The recipe made 10 pints and I will be making more very soon, since we are going through them so fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnsburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Love this recipe...It was a big hit with my family and friends, who all couldn't believe I hadn't bought them in a store!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
My whole family loves this recipe!!!!! I added multiple colors of peppers to add some color to the recipe and it was wonderful. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States