Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
This is a #1 excellent pickle recipe. Would be good to use the same brine for beans, I think. Will be remaking every year. I only water bathed til the skins turned a different green( no more than 5 min), otherwise, they turn too soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
Made pickles for the first time and I'm HAPPY to say I'm glad I choose this recipe to follow !! My Mom and Dad came to visit and they asked what I made and they wanted to try them right a way.. AND lets just say they left with 6 jars !! and as the week went by they would say 5 left . 4 left you get the picture SO I made another batch ... AWESOME and thanks for sharing this with me.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Auburn, Maine, USA
Living In: Lewiston, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Great Recipe. Made these for the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
I just made these yesterday and I have a few comments. I noticed reading the reviews that everyone loves the pickles, me too. I see that some of you halfed the recipe and did just fine. The one thing that fooled me was the wide disparity in the amount of the yeild. David got 8 quarts. Other people had more or less. I used 8 cucumbers and got 6 pints. However I had to add another cup of viniger and one of water to the 2 cups I down sized from the 3 cups in the recipe. Obviously, the size of the cukes makes a big difference. Mine were about 7-8 inches long and an average center slice 1 3/4" across. I have no idea how David got 8 quarts using only 3 cups of vinegar. From now on, I will be sure to have enough vinegar mixture boiling to cover everything. One last thing. I purchased a slicing mandoline from Walmart that made quick work of the slicing especially when I set the thing over the cooler and ice as other people suggested. Next I am going to try slicing the cukes lengthwise and make sandwich pickles. I am a just begining Chef, not a cook like my wife. It seems that Chefs don't have to clean up. Big differene huh?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Arlington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Crystal River, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This recipe was so easy. The reviews prior to starting were very helpful, especially in regard to rinsing the cukes and adding ice. We tried the first pickles tonight and they were amazing! They were crunchy, and extremely yum! I highly recommend this recipe, even to the novice "pickler".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2011
These are awesome! We eat them as a snack they're so good. I scaled down the recipe a bit, but it works just the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leisl Kern

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
Best ever! I did add 1/4 cup salt and less sugar. This recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
First time I've ever made pickles, and they turned out great! The store was sold out of mustard seeds, so I made it without those, but it was still great, and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I must admit I thought I would go searching for another bread n butter recipe if this wasn't what I was looking for -- but you know what? THIS IS EXACTLY THE RECIPE I WAS LOOKING FOR! The cukes are still crisp, and oh my gosh, do they have a wonderful taste when chilled? I must recommend this. I used the raw/cold pack method once I brined my slices, and then simply put the boiling sauce over the pickles, and water-bathed them. These are sooooooo good! It is a def a recommend! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latenitetacos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shawnee, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
My Dad used to make awesome bread and butter pickles, using a recipe from an early 1960's "Better Homes and Gardens" cookbook. I have looked online in vain for that recipe, but this one is very, very close. I made 1/2 a batch, and I still wound up with 3 quarts and 6 pints of incredibly delicious pickles. (They were big cucumbers) There was one snag; because I made 1/2 a batch, I used 1/2 the amounts called for in the pickling brine. When I dumped my huge bowl of veggies into the pickling liquid, it was obvious I needed more liquid. So, quick like a bunny, I removed the veggies and (inadequate) liquid from the burner, and whipped up a 1/4 recipe of more pickle liquid and added it to the already huge pot of veggies and liquid and continued with the recipe. Perfect amount. I did process my pickles in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes, so I could enjoy them longer. They are The Bomb. So worth the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States