Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I saved the cucumber water when I drained the cucumbers; added it to the vinegar mixture. Really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Watseka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was my first time making pickles and they turned out pretty good. However, as a professional chef I did make some assumptions about the recipe here that a home cook may not have done. I used pickling cucumbers and sliced a bit thick as I prefer them this way. I also used pickling salt as table salt would just be much too much. I used the correct amount of tumeric but will half that next time as I found it to be too much, creating a muddled sort of appearance and taste. I also took a few liberties with the recipe and will take a few more next time around. I omitted the bell pepper altogether and added half of an anise star (I took it out before canning). I also added a 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper (I halved the recipe listed) to add a little zip and balance the sugar a bit. I let the cucumbers sit in the fridge with the salt for only an hour as I prefer a crunchier pickle. I drained them but it is not necessary to rinse if you use pickling salt. I made half the recipe listed, using pickling cucumbers and it made 4 pints with plenty of pickling liquid-I poured about a half down the drain as it wouldn't fit into my jars. Can't wait for my next batch of cucumbers to grow and give it another go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanette Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Oh my. I made these pickles last year and honestly sort of forgot about them as they got pushed to the back of the pantry. I found them this summer when I was organizing my canning jars but I wasn't in a hurry to open them since I figured they'd be mushy after waiting a year. I'm starting to run out of canning jars as we go through the summer gardening season, so I thought I'd try them and if they were soft I'd just dump them and free up the jars. Nope... they were fabulous. Still very crispy and the flavor is excellent. This is a great recipe, and I followed it almost to the letter. I'm not a big clove fan, so I just added one clover per pint jar that I made and it added a nice subtle hint of clove, which was plenty for me. I love the cider vinegar and turmeric flavors together. Definitely a keeper, and as berserk as my cucumbers are growing this year, I'm sure I'll be making more of them and NOT waiting a year to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Great recipe.And yes drain and rinse. I couldn't believe how much water comes out of those sucker! And yes you do need a very large bowl or tub.That's a lot of slices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madddawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
These are absolutely delish! I am in the process of making my third batch in a week and have countless jars of these delicious pickles for Christmas gifts. Highly recommend reading other comments that are so helpful-- I, too, doubled the vinegar solution, cut the sugar in half, added sliced red peppers and jalapenos. Easy, beautiful, so tasty. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Loved it! love the added cracked ice to the 3hr waiting period, keep all crisp and cold. Easier drainage, I also do the boiling in the microwave and it makes a quick job of it before jarring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Mills Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
do you have to refrigerate after canning them?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kelly Waldrop
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is the first recipe i have ever tried for B&B pickles and we are hooked! Thanks to all the tips in the reviews my pickles turn out fabulous! We are still making them to store away but it is well worth the labor. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly Waldrop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2014
I love this recipe. Very good. I did put the vegetables in a salt and ice bath for 2 hours and rinsed before moving to the next step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dollie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
I put a teaspoon of crushed peppers in one jar and made the other as directed. Both were very good BUT the spicy one disappeared much more quickly. They were so easy to make .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

How to Make Fried Pickles

These tasty fried appetizers are a Southern favorite—and so easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States