Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2014
Yes it is delicious. It is easy to make and worth making them. This is my second time this month I am canning them. I keep the spices in a tea bay holder so there isn't too many of them in the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Five stars, nothing more needs to be said about this recipe. Thank you for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Are the whole cloves to be taken out ? We loved the B&B ,just not eating a clove
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Martinsburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2014
made this for the first time...the family loved it. these are the crispiest homemade pickles I've had...I let mine sit overnight though instead of 3 hours...I had to substitute the pickling spice you buy on the canning aisle instead of the mustard seed, celery seed,whole cloves,ground turmeric the store was all out when I went to purchase...must be canning season..also I used Vidalia onions and multi colored bell peppers just to make mine prettier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Blairsville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
Delicious! Make sure you rinse and drain the cucumbers. Just draining them does not remove enough salt. I think "25 cucumbers" is a little ambiguous since the size can vary so much, so I weighed mine and used about 7 lbs of cucumbers. I also used 4 cups of apple cider vinegar to change the vinegar to sugar ratio to more closely match other recipes I was looking at. They are plenty sweet with 4cups vinegar to 5 cups sugar. I skipped the bell peppers, but I think red ones would be nice. My 3 year old grandson thinks you are supposed to eat these by the bowlful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
I saved the cucumber water when I drained the cucumbers; added it to the vinegar mixture. Really good!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Carrollton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Watseka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
This was my first time making pickles and they turned out pretty good. However, as a professional chef I did make some assumptions about the recipe here that a home cook may not have done. I used pickling cucumbers and sliced a bit thick as I prefer them this way. I also used pickling salt as table salt would just be much too much. I used the correct amount of tumeric but will half that next time as I found it to be too much, creating a muddled sort of appearance and taste. I also took a few liberties with the recipe and will take a few more next time around. I omitted the bell pepper altogether and added half of an anise star (I took it out before canning). I also added a 1/4 tsp of crushed red pepper (I halved the recipe listed) to add a little zip and balance the sugar a bit. I let the cucumbers sit in the fridge with the salt for only an hour as I prefer a crunchier pickle. I drained them but it is not necessary to rinse if you use pickling salt. I made half the recipe listed, using pickling cucumbers and it made 4 pints with plenty of pickling liquid-I poured about a half down the drain as it wouldn't fit into my jars. Can't wait for my next batch of cucumbers to grow and give it another go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nanette Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Oh my. I made these pickles last year and honestly sort of forgot about them as they got pushed to the back of the pantry. I found them this summer when I was organizing my canning jars but I wasn't in a hurry to open them since I figured they'd be mushy after waiting a year. I'm starting to run out of canning jars as we go through the summer gardening season, so I thought I'd try them and if they were soft I'd just dump them and free up the jars. Nope... they were fabulous. Still very crispy and the flavor is excellent. This is a great recipe, and I followed it almost to the letter. I'm not a big clove fan, so I just added one clover per pint jar that I made and it added a nice subtle hint of clove, which was plenty for me. I love the cider vinegar and turmeric flavors together. Definitely a keeper, and as berserk as my cucumbers are growing this year, I'm sure I'll be making more of them and NOT waiting a year to eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
Great recipe.And yes drain and rinse. I couldn't believe how much water comes out of those sucker! And yes you do need a very large bowl or tub.That's a lot of slices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madddawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
These are absolutely delish! I am in the process of making my third batch in a week and have countless jars of these delicious pickles for Christmas gifts. Highly recommend reading other comments that are so helpful-- I, too, doubled the vinegar solution, cut the sugar in half, added sliced red peppers and jalapenos. Easy, beautiful, so tasty. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roxboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States