Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
First time I'd ever done my own canning. This recipe is delicious and I'll make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PALLOTTA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
This is my first year growing cucumbers and now I have a fantastic recipe for them. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Northglenn, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2010
Add me to the list of people who give this recipe 5 stars! It came out wonderful, even though it was my first time making pickles. I did use the suggestions of others to use ice to keep the cucumbers crisp and making more of the syrup to have plenty for all of the jars. I tripled the recipe for the syrup, which was too much, but that's ok. I refrigerated it and will use it today when I make my second batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwich, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
Wonderful! Even had friends that "hate" bread and butter pickles sit down and eat a whole jar (she is preg). Everyone loved them. I followed the recipe as written, except I soaked the cucs in ice water for a few hours before the whole process. I am making 3 more batches now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Vernon, Washington, USA
Living In: Big Bend National Park, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
Who knew pickles could be so easy and so delicious. My husband LOVES these. Made as written and used some suggestions of chilling and rinsing. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Very tasty and easy. I added ice to top of the sliced mixture. Added red and yellow pepper for color. I opted to finish with a ten minute hot water bath to completely seal. My whole family loves these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
The reviews are right! These are the best pickles! I give them 10 stars! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
My first time making pickles and I tell you I was very happy with the results. I did change up the recipe. I added red bell pepper and only 3 cups of sugar. Next time I will add banana peppers for color. Use pickling cukes. I put the brine mixture in 2 13x9 cake pans and added crushed ice to the top of the mixture. Refrig. After 4 hours drain mixture in colander to remove salt and juice. Add cukes, peppers and onions to hot mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Granby, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
We LOVED these pickles. I used red bell pepper instead of green; I prefer the sweeter flavor, and it looks beautiful. I also left out the turmeric since I didn't have any on hand. I added sliced jalapeno to one batch, and they were a hit also. I canned some and just left the others in the frig. Both were delicious. The first batch I sliced very thin with the food processor, but preferred the subsequent batches which I hand cut into thicker slices. These are so easy to make, and so much more flavorful than store bought pickles. This was my first attempt at making pickles, and I will definitely do it again next year. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Wonderful flavor. My food processor sliced these too thin so they are more like a relish. But superb flavor and NO HFCS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States