Bread and Butter Pickles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
I made some minor changes and put my jars in a "bain-marie" or covered water bath for 10 minutes in very hot water to process for non refrigeration. The changes in the recipe were only 3 onions, not 6, no green peppers and 1/4 cup salt. Wonderful and crisp!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GayNell Palmisano
Home Town: Grand Bay, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
Lole, love, love these pickles. Id never made pickles before and these taste like ive been making them for years. As others, i did the syrup with 4 cups sugar instead of 5 and i added 1 tsp. Ginger. I put ice on the cukes while brining and only brined for about2 hrs. Rinsed cukes really, really good. And i also did the hot water bath for canning. These are fabulous!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
We made these and processed them in a water bath for 10 minutes..Yum..We will use this again!! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kandra Stephen Palmer

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
These were good! I’ve been playing around with a few different types of vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I was spending almost 5 bucks a jar for the gormet brand at my local market. Not any more thank you this recipe. I ate them up so fast I had to buy more cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pitchfork

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
These were the best bread and butter pickles I've ever had. I actually added 2 red bell peppers for color. They are beautiful in the jars and taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
These have been loved by everyone who has tried them. Bf loves them, and I gave a jar to a coworker for christmas. She said that her son ate more than half the jar bc he enjoyed them so much. Even bf and I, who aren't huge fans of onions, enjoyed the onions in here. They are pretty easy--just several steps, so allow yourself time for those steps. Follow the instructions exactly and you'll be fine. Also, the final product makes great relish--just grab what you want from the jar, put it in the food processor until you get the consistency you want, and voila! relish. :o) Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Outstanding pickle recipe, crisp B&B plus added many cloves of garlic crushed as well a sliced jalepenos and red bell peppers. Even my husband who likes all those extras, was not sure of them until we cracked the first jar and we eat half a pint. He eats them on every sandwich he makes for his lunch. Try them for sure if you like bread & butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynette Smith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Napa, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
Everybody wants these pickles since we made them. They are so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Sharrits

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Horse Shoe, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Phenominal! Did almost a dozen quarts. They were gone within a couple weeks! I did the "old way" when it came to sealing my jars. Did NOT do the hot water bath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aimee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Bread and Butter Pickles

Add crunch to your lunch with your own homemade pickles.

Chef John's Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make easy bread and butter pickles from scratch.

Microwave Bread and Butter Pickles

See how to make crisp, delicious homemade pickles in the microwave.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States